WinMenuSelectItem Command is not working for opening Add Sub Title dialog box for VLC Media Player. Is there any remedy?

Get help with using AutoHotkey and its commands and hotkeys
User avatar
Sabestian Caine
Posts: 480
Joined: 12 Apr 2015, 03:53

WinMenuSelectItem Command is not working for opening Add Sub Title dialog box for VLC Media Player. Is there any remedy?

01 Sep 2020, 09:30

Neither these codes are working-

Code: Select all

WinMenuSelectItem, ahk_exe vlc.exe, , Subtitle, Add Subtitle File...
nor these codes are working-

Code: Select all

WinMenuSelectItem, ahk_exe vlc.exe, , 5&, 1&
I think it can be done by PostMessage command. But, I don't know how to use it. Please tell me how to open Add Subtitle file dialog box in VLC Media player. Thanks a lot.
I don't normally code as I don't code normally.
YOU do what YOU want, but happens what HE wants.
YOU do what HE wants, will happen what YOU want.
User avatar
Sabestian Caine
Posts: 480
Joined: 12 Apr 2015, 03:53

Re: WinMenuSelectItem Command is not working for opening Add Sub Title dialog box for VLC Media Player. Is there any rem

02 Sep 2020, 07:47

boiler wrote:
01 Sep 2020, 18:52

Code: Select all

WinActivate, ahk_exe vlc.exe
Send, !ts
Thanks dear boiler for your good reply. your codes are working but, could there be something more reliable and constant for this purpose? I think this can be done more effectively by PostMassage command. As by these codes I can open Enter new address to download dialog box in Internet Download Manager-

Code: Select all

PostMessage, 0x111, 32789,,, Internet Download Manager
Can something like this be not done in VLC too?

Please help. Thanks..
I don't normally code as I don't code normally.
YOU do what YOU want, but happens what HE wants.
YOU do what HE wants, will happen what YOU want.
User avatar
rommmcek
Posts: 1106
Joined: 15 Aug 2014, 15:18

Re: WinMenuSelectItem Command is not working for opening Add Sub Title dialog box for VLC Media Player. Is there any rem

02 Sep 2020, 12:22

This should improve reliability:

Code: Select all

WinActivate ahk_class QWidget ahk_exe vlc.exe
WinWaitActive ahk_class QWidget ahk_exe vlc.exe
SendInput, !t
WinWait ahk_class QPopup ahk_exe vlc.exe
SendInput, s
User avatar
boiler
Posts: 6214
Joined: 21 Dec 2014, 02:44

Re: WinMenuSelectItem Command is not working for opening Add Sub Title dialog box for VLC Media Player. Is there any rem

02 Sep 2020, 12:36

Sabestian Caine wrote:
02 Sep 2020, 07:47
I think this can be done more effectively by PostMassage command. As by these codes I can open Enter new address to download dialog box in Internet Download Manager-

Code: Select all

PostMessage, 0x111, 32789,,, Internet Download Manager
Can something like this be not done in VLC too?
You can follow this tutorial to try to find if there are messages that could be sent to that window via PostMessage to accomplish that.
User avatar
Sabestian Caine
Posts: 480
Joined: 12 Apr 2015, 03:53

Re: WinMenuSelectItem Command is not working for opening Add Sub Title dialog box for VLC Media Player. Is there any rem

03 Sep 2020, 10:52

rommmcek wrote:
02 Sep 2020, 12:22
This should improve reliability:

Code: Select all

WinActivate ahk_class QWidget ahk_exe vlc.exe
WinWaitActive ahk_class QWidget ahk_exe vlc.exe
SendInput, !t
WinWait ahk_class QPopup ahk_exe vlc.exe
SendInput, s
Thanks dear rommmcek...
I don't normally code as I don't code normally.
YOU do what YOU want, but happens what HE wants.
YOU do what HE wants, will happen what YOU want.
User avatar
Sabestian Caine
Posts: 480
Joined: 12 Apr 2015, 03:53

Re: WinMenuSelectItem Command is not working for opening Add Sub Title dialog box for VLC Media Player. Is there any rem

03 Sep 2020, 10:56

boiler wrote:
02 Sep 2020, 12:36
Sabestian Caine wrote:
02 Sep 2020, 07:47
I think this can be done more effectively by PostMassage command. As by these codes I can open Enter new address to download dialog box in Internet Download Manager-

Code: Select all

PostMessage, 0x111, 32789,,, Internet Download Manager
Can something like this be not done in VLC too?
You can follow this tutorial to try to find if there are messages that could be sent to that window via PostMessage to accomplish that.

Thanks dear boiler... I have spent hours to control vlc by postmessage command but nothing is working... i have tried the above link and this link https://forum.videolan.org/viewtopic.php?t=13395 to make postmessage command work for vlc but everything went vain... anyway thanks a lot sir.. :|
I don't normally code as I don't code normally.
YOU do what YOU want, but happens what HE wants.
YOU do what HE wants, will happen what YOU want.
User avatar
Sabestian Caine
Posts: 480
Joined: 12 Apr 2015, 03:53

Re: WinMenuSelectItem Command is not working for opening Add Sub Title dialog box for VLC Media Player. Is there any rem

04 Sep 2020, 11:16

malcev wrote:
03 Sep 2020, 14:22
You can do it with iaccessible interface help.
please provide more info about iaccessible interface... provide some links etc and tell how to use it... Thanks..
I don't normally code as I don't code normally.
YOU do what YOU want, but happens what HE wants.
YOU do what HE wants, will happen what YOU want.

Return to “Ask For Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Adamyounguk, boiler, bxgchoi, Google [Bot], hasantr, mikeyww, Xsawers and 51 guests