Ignore the shift key being held down

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
Grasshopper

Ignore the shift key being held down

31 Oct 2020, 09:31

Hello, I'm new to AHK and am stuck on this one:

I'm using a programmable keypad to trigger AHK macros. Using the software provided with the keypad, I've assigned each key to Ctrl+F1, Ctrl+F2 etc and have defined macros in AHK for each of those key combinations. I have to use KeyWait, Control to make this work because without it the script sometimes runs before the keypad releases the virtual control key,, which messes up the macro. This is how I have it set up, and it is working perfectly:

Code: Select all

^F1::
KeyWait, Control
(((macro here)))
return
I'm having trouble taking this one step further. I'd like to have a second layer of commands for the keypad buttons that run when I hold the shift key on the keyboard while pressing the keypad button. I can make it work by adding "+" and adding "KeyWait, Shift", but I would need to be able to use the macros consecutively without having to release the shift key every time. This code also works, but obviously you have to release shift every time before it executes:

^+F1::
KeyWait, Control
KeyWait, Shift
(((secondary macro here)))
return
Is there a way that I can have a different macro run when I hold shift and press the keypad button assigned to Ctrl+F1, but do it in a way that the script ignores the fact that the keyboard shift key may or may not still be held down while the script is running and could be released in the middle of the script running? My thought would be to remove the "KeyWait, Shift" and somehow trick the computer into not acknowledging the keyboard shift key only for the duration of the script, but I'm not sure how to accomplish this or if there is a better way. Any advice on things I can try will be very much appreciated.
mikeyww

Re: Ignore the shift key being held down

31 Oct 2020, 10:01