16 Apr 2021, 17:10

Sorry for the generic title. I have the following hotkey:

Code: Select all

MacronKeys := {Space: ¯, a: ā} ; this is declared at the top of the script

; ...

; Alt Gr + Shift + -
<^>!+-:: 
Input, Char, L1
Send % (MacronKeys.HasKey(%Char%)? MacronKeys[%Char%] : ¯%Char%)
return

; ...
The intended semantics are: when the user presses alt gr + shift + -, record one input Char. If MacronKeys contains that char, output the corresponding letter (for Space, ¯, for a, ā). If it doesn't, simply send ¯ and append the input char to it.

What actually happens:
If I press the hotkey and then "a", nothing is sent.
If I press space, I get an error:

The following variable name contains an illegal character: " "
and then the line of Send above.
If I press anything that isn't in MacronKeys, nothing is sent.

This is my first time making a complex script, so I'm probably messing up something basic (and I tried various combinations of % signs around variables and whatnot), but I couldn't figure out why even searching through the documentation. Help?
gregster

Re: Help with objects and error message

16 Apr 2021, 17:20

Try

MacronKeys := {" ": "¯", a: "ā"} ; this is declared at the top of the script

; Alt Gr + Shift + -
Input, Char, L1
Send % (MacronKeys.HasKey(Char)? MacronKeys[Char] : "¯" Char)
return
object values need to be quoted, if they are strings - literal object keys can be quoted (in the special case of a space character, it is probably necessary)
Generally, in expression mode (that you forced here by using % followed by space), you don't use %s around variables (exceptions exist, such as "double-derefs"). But literal strings require quotes...

You could also do this:

MacronKeys := {(a_space) : "¯", a: "ā"}