Scraping then pasting multiple variables

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
Epoch

Scraping then pasting multiple variables

04 Jun 2021, 11:36

I want to scrape game information from one or multiple (whatever is simpler/faster) sites, then using it to fill fields on a game collection program (Collectorz Game Collector - It only fetches info from its own database, which seems to lack many games, especially indies).

The approach I came up with (I am pretty new to AHK so, again, if there's a better/easier way to deal with this let me know) is using getElementById commands to grab various parts (game description, url of the trailer on Youtube, developer) from their page on sites such as Steam, igdb.com and https rawg.io (AFAIK these seem to be the best video game database sites), store them as variables then use them to fill the corresponding fields in the Collectorz program. I do use Firefox/Waterfox btw but from what I understand the COM/GetElementById wizardry needs Internet Explorer, so be it.

By researching and adapting code found on the second post of this thread: https://www.autohotkey.com/boards/viewtopic.php?t=68923
I can go as far as opening a specific game STEAM page (this for example: https store.steampowered.com /app/1097200/Twelve_Minutes/), successfully getting the description field then launch a msgbox popup with it.

Breaking down things I know and things I have a problem with:

1. How do I scrape data from any game page rather than "Twelve Minutes" in particular? I suppose a good start would be to have the script reading my clipboard or launch an input box so I type a game title then performing a search on Steam and/or igbd.com etc THEN do the scraping. I don't know how to do that though.