ToolTip position not absolute relative to Screen

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
rarez
Posts: 10
Joined: 22 Oct 2021, 04:25

ToolTip position not absolute relative to Screen

22 Oct 2021, 05:08

Hello,

Is there anyone who can help me with making my tooltip position absolute? I've played with CoordMode and Screen though those commands just make the ToolTip disappear.

Here's a sample:

Code: Select all

	^j::
	#SingleInstance Force
	CoordMode, ToolTip, Enabling Something, 1200, 720
	sleep 1400
	ToolTip
	return
[Mod edit: [code][/code] tags added.]

Reordering of commands, brackets & spaces based on the help file aren't helpful, neither anything that I've tried to make sense of from the similar threads in this forum.

When I omit the CoordMode command the ToolTip works, however, its position is changing based on the size of the open window.

I'd really appreciate a slower intro after being discouraged from the help file samples not working as intended...

Thank you

Simon
User avatar
boiler
Posts: 16951
Joined: 21 Dec 2014, 02:44

Re: ToolTip position not absolute relative to Screen

22 Oct 2021, 05:15

CoordMode doesn’t get combined with your ToolTip command like you tried to do. It’s a separate command that sets the coordinate mode for subsequent ToolTip commands. It only needs to appear once at the top of your script:

Code: Select all

CoordMode, ToolTip, Screen

Then when you use ToolTip commands, the coordinates specified will be relative to the screen.

rarez wrote: I'd really appreciate a slower intro after being discouraged from the help file samples not working as intended...
The help file doesn’t show anything similar to this:

Code: Select all

 CoordMode, ToolTip, Enabling Something, 1200, 720
Last edited by boiler on 22 Oct 2021, 05:19, edited 1 time in total.
Rohwedder
Posts: 7645
Joined: 04 Jun 2014, 08:33
Location: Germany

Re: ToolTip position not absolute relative to Screen

22 Oct 2021, 05:18

Hallo,
try:

Code: Select all

#SingleInstance Force
^j::
CoordMode, ToolTip, Screen
ToolTip, Enabling Something, 1200, 720
sleep 1400
ToolTip
return
rarez
Posts: 10
Joined: 22 Oct 2021, 04:25

Re: ToolTip position not absolute relative to Screen

09 Nov 2021, 05:05

Sorry, my bad! Notifications disabled, I was pondering the whole 'friendly forum' concept :)

Rohwedder - Thanks so much! It worked!

boiler - your reply is very helpful indeed, thank you so much!

Please pardon my dummy text, of course there's nothing like it in the help file. I needed to use 'ToolTip' command twice on separate lines.

Return to “Ask for Help (v1)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Chunjee, inseption86, jaka1 and 285 guests