Creating a simple script and launching it

Get help with using AutoHotkey and its commands and hotkeys
KeyMan1

Creating a simple script and launching it

09 Oct 2015, 01:44

I have no experience with AutoHotKey. I've read all the help, tutorials and forum posts I could in the span of about two hours and still haven't figured out how to do this. Can I please get help with this? It's simple-stupid stuff for any experienced user.

I'm running Windows 7.

I want to create a script to do the following:

Input: Ctrl-LeftMouseClick
Result: LeftMouseClick (at the cursor), Alt-Tab (to switch to the previous window), Ctrl-W

So, what I need is the following, please:

1. The text file to run that, and where to put it.

2. The version of AutoHotKey to install, and where to put it.

3. Knowing what I have to do, if anything, to have AutoHotKey running and ready to implement that macro when invoked.

Thanks so much!
T_Lube

Re: Creating a simple script and launching it

09 Oct 2015, 02:26

0. Install AHK from this website, just do automatic install for simplicity sake.
1. open a new text document and copy this code to it:

Code: Select all

$^LButton::
Sendinput, {lbutton}{alt down}{tab}{alt up}{ctrl down}w{ctrl up}
Return
click on the drop down menu for the file type and select "all file types" then add ".ahk" to the end of the file name and save it on your desktop.
2. See step "0" above
3. Double click on the script that you have saved on your desktop. You should see a AHK icon near the clock on the taskbar. The script is now running and you can use the above hotkey.
lexikos
GitHub: Lexikos

09 Oct 2015, 02:53

Note that code boxes have a "Download" link which you can use instead of copy-pasting into Notepad. I have edited T_Lube's post to include the appropriate filename extension (".ahk" rather than the default ".txt").

This is equivalent to T_Lube's script:

$^LButton::SendInput, {LButton}!{Tab}^w