Keysharp - the resurrection of IronAHK

Talk about things KeySharp, some related to AutoHotkey or C#
mfeemster

Keysharp - the resurrection of IronAHK

13 Jun 2020, 00:15

Download the latest test builds here: https://bitbucket.org/mfeemster/keysharp/downloads/

_________________________________________________________________________________

I am a senior developer myself with mostly Windows experience, a little bit of Linux, and no Mac OS experience.

From about 2010 to 2015, several people here worked on a project called Iron AutoHotKey which was a complete re-write of AHK in C# with the aim of being cross platform.

Sadly, the project was discontinued and the author is nowhere to be found.

The good news is that his source code is available in an archived repo on github.

I've downloaded it, upgraded the project files to Visual Studio 2019, reorganized and cleaned up a bunch of the code, started a new project based on it, and have it successfully building running on Windows and am able to debug it.

He did a ton of work which I am grateful for, I wouldn't have known where to begin had I started from scratch on my own.

With that baseline code, I can see where he implemented some basic code for doing things on Linux, but have not run that part yet, so I don't know if it will work. I am focusing on Windows for now.

I can also see a lot of empty parts that were left blank.

I am going to spend time inspecting and documenting just how much of the full AHK spec he implemented.

Once I get it all working on Windows, I will try Linux, then maybe Mac if I can get some assistance from Mac developers. IronAHK has already set up a good design for this. I will need to enlist help from volunteers for the latter two OSes.

I think now would be an ideal time to do it because Microsoft is really pushing hard to have C# be a dominant language for all major OSes.