GDI/P - LoadPicture() return type - HBITMAP? Topic is solved

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v2 or newer) and its commands and hotkeys
TheArkive

GDI/P - LoadPicture() return type - HBITMAP?

30 Mar 2021, 16:38

I know that LoadPicture() returns an HBITMAP, but what does that mean on the GDI side?

Is HBITMAP and DIB the same thing?

As far as I can tell from what I've come across so far, it seems to be a DIB. Just looking for confirmation, as I am new to this journey, and there is plenty to get lost in.

Other than that, does LoadPicture() always return a 32bpp image (when not a cursor or icon)? Even when loading a GIF? (I know that LoadPicture won't animate a gif.)
lexikos

Re: GDI/P - LoadPicture() return type - HBITMAP?  Topic is solved

30 Mar 2021, 22:02

HBITMAP is a GDI type...

Bitmaps can be device dependent or not. DIB = device independent bitmap.

LoadPicture uses a number of different methods, and mostly doesn't create the bitmap directly. I'm not sure whether all methods return a DIB. It doesn't matter most of the time.
TheArkive

Re: GDI/P - LoadPicture() return type - HBITMAP?

31 Mar 2021, 05:55

Thanks lexikos.

I know that was a fairly simple question. I'm just trying to lay my foundation (and temper expectations) for my up-and-coming experiments.
iseahound

31 Mar 2021, 13:07

A GDI hBitmap is usually a 24bpp DIB. hBitmaps are word aligned, so a 24 bpp image will use 32 bits of space.

As a side note, conversion of images with transparency to hBitmaps is a lossy function as hBitmaps use pre-multiplied ARGB.

Unfortunately an hBitmap can really be anything. DDBs can store their pixel data in a hardware compatible form for the memory buffers of printers for example. You can create an hBitmap with 42 bits per pixel and 7 color channels if you wanted.

You may find the following table to be helpful for GDI+. I have not posted this anywhere else yet, but it explains how to read a pixelformat hexadecimal.

Code: Select all