Page 1 of 1

What am I missing? VSCode newbie

Posted: 20 Jun 2021, 10:44
by dmatch
I have used VSCode with Python for a while now. It just worked. When I tried using an AHK extension to debug autohotkey scripts I am not so lucky. When I start the debugger it does nothing. Just opens the debug controls with only pause, reload and stop available. It doesn't go to first breakpoint or anything. No run, step, step over controls are avaible on debugger toolbar. What am I missing or messing up?

I installed this version VSCode:
Version: 1.57.1 (user setup)
Commit: 507ce72a4466fbb27b715c3722558bb15afa9f48
Date: 2021-06-17T13:28:07.755Z
Electron: 12.0.7
Chrome: 89.0.4389.128
Node.js: 14.16.0
V8: 8.9.255.25-electron.0
OS: Windows_NT x64 10.0.15063
In VSCode I installed extension:
AutoHotkey Plus Plus
mark-wiemer.vscode-autohotkey-plus-plus
Mark Wiemer
v2.8.1
This is what was generated for a launch.json:

Code: Select all

    "version": "0.2.0",
    "configurations": [
        {
            "type": "ahk",
            "request": "launch",
            "name": "AutoHotkey Debugger",
            "program": "",
            "stopOnEntry": true
        }
    ]
}
Note the lack of controls available in debug toolbar:
AHKDebug.jpg
AHKDebug.jpg (24.23 KiB) Viewed 3609 times

Re: What am I missing? VSCode newbie

Posted: 20 Jun 2021, 10:57
by thqby
image.png
image.png (54.02 KiB) Viewed 3603 times
I tested it, I can press F9 to debug normally, no configuration file is needed.

Re: What am I missing? VSCode newbie

Posted: 20 Jun 2021, 12:12
by dmatch
When I don't use a configuration, assuming you mean a launch.json I am greeted with " you don't have and extension for debugging autohotkey". Thank you for the reply.