How to remap Pause key and disable Windows Start menu display by Windows key?

Get help with using AutoHotkey and its commands and hotkeys
MIRKOSOFT
Posts: 327
Joined: 23 Sep 2014, 14:29

How to remap Pause key and disable Windows Start menu display by Windows key?

28 Nov 2017, 12:09

Hi!

I found problem on my keyboard with Pause key.
I remapped some keys outside AHK by SharpKeys, but tried lot of utilities, even I have KbdEdit Personal licensed - not possible to remap Pause key.
I know it is hardwired to NumLock key, but my keyboard has not numeric block and NumLock I have remapped to other by SharpKeys.

Maybe it works only by Registry. Problem is that I have about registry remapping very little knowledge and even there are yet written SharpKeys values.
How to remap Pause key - by any way or registry?

Second Q is maybe looking stupid.
I need to use Windows key own hotkeys, but don't want to display Start Menu by right Windows key.
I found references to AHK which does it:

Code: Select all

~LWin::return
~RWin::return
But I have installed Stardock Start10 - I have two separate Start menus what is more useful that only change whole behavior to use Windows 7 theme only.
Maybe this does problem why AHK remapping written above works not.
I need to display Start10 menu by left Windows key and by Start button display Windows 10 start menu, but need to disable displaying any menu (Start10 and Windows 10) by right Windows key.
Can anybody help me?

Thank you for each reply.
Miro
Osprey
Posts: 453
Joined: 18 Nov 2017, 05:50

Re: How to remap Pause key and disable Windows Start menu display by Windows key?

28 Nov 2017, 16:05

I've been able to remap the Pause key. In a script of mine, I use:

Code: Select all

  ; Pause = Pause hotkeys
  Pause::Suspend

  ; Ctrl + Pause = Exit script ; This notation is necessary to make Ctrl work with Pause
  ^CtrlBreak::ExitApp
Perhaps the problem that you're having is with using a modifier with it. The standard notation (simply putting the modifier character in front of "Pause") doesn't work, I found. I had to do it as shown above. Try that.

I'm not sure about your second question. On my keyboard, the left Windows key and the button labeled "Start" are the same key, not separate ones.
MIRKOSOFT
Posts: 327
Joined: 23 Sep 2014, 14:29

Re: How to remap Pause key and disable Windows Start menu display by Windows key?

28 Nov 2017, 22:14

I meant remapping Pause key totally - so outside AHK.
I don't want this key on my keyboard and want to map other key in AHK script.

Alwao, what with Windows key?
Miro
MIRKOSOFT
Posts: 327
Joined: 23 Sep 2014, 14:29

Re: How to remap Pause key and disable Windows Start menu display by Windows key?

02 Dec 2017, 10:40

I tried to remap Pause by Registry but it recognized not correct code.
We all know that Pause scancode is vk13sc045 and NumLock vk90sc045.
So, I used first 00 45 - it remaps NumLock (I found it in SharpKeys remap list)
Then I tried E0 45 - it was really confusion (SharpKeys displays Special € key) and Pause was untouched.

So, can anybody help me what a value add to Registry for Pause key?

Thank you for all.
Miro
MIRKOSOFT
Posts: 327
Joined: 23 Sep 2014, 14:29

Re: How to remap Pause key and disable Windows Start menu display by Windows key?

02 Dec 2017, 12:47

I found solution and customized it, look here:

In registry key
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Keyboard Layout]
find
"Scancode Map"

and do this:
first are 4 bytes of header and 4 bytes of version:
00,00,00,00 ; header
00,00,00,00 ; version

Then rempped keys count - in this case 4
04,00,00,00 ; remapped keys count

and now the mapping - in this case replacing Pause by Del
53,e0,1d,e1 ; E0_53 (Del) map as E1_1D - look at order: first is low byte of key scancode and then high byte - first is remapped key, then original
00,00,45,00 ; 00_45 (NumLock) turn off (00_00) - needs for remaping Pause - in my case have mapped NumLock to other key and after is turned off - so key which is original NumLock works
53,e0,46,e0 ; E0_53 (Del) map as E0_46 - again mapping
00,00,00,00 ; last is values terminator

In extraction if you have other mapping, use only:
53,e0,1d,e1 ; E0_53 (Del) map as E1_1D
00,00,45,00 ; 00_45 (NumLock) turn off (00_00)
53,e0,46,e0 ; E0_53 (Del) map as E0_46
and add to key count +3
E0_53 Del scancode can be replaced by all other.

Miro

Return to “Ask For Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 4k3or3et, Bing [Bot], blenderfish, boiler, coder_chick, DaveT1, Google [Bot], hackkk745, moszt, RubbeH, TheDewd and 47 guests