AHK will not override Windows default hotkeys

Get help with using AutoHotkey and its commands and hotkeys
bkrstmuse
Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Jan 2019, 16:04

AHK will not override Windows default hotkeys

13 Jan 2019, 16:18

I'm trying to do something simple in Windows 10: hotkeys to reprogram buttons on my remote.
I want the "Media_Play_Pause" button to send {space} and the "Browser_Search" button to send "F" (used for full screen). The hotkeys run fine but they don't override the default Windows actions.

Here's my script:

;pause/play button = space
vkB3::{space}

;Search button = full screen
*vkAA::f

And here's what it's doing:

Play/Pause:
B3 122 h d 12.81 Media_Play_Pause
20 039 i d 0.00 Space
20 039 i u 0.00 Space
B3 122 a u 0.20 Media_Play_Pause

Search:
AA 165 h d 2.19 Browser_Search
46 021 i d 0.00 f
5C 05C a d 0.00 RWin
53 01F a d 0.00 s
53 01F a u 0.00 s
5C 05C a u 0.00 RWin
AA 165 h u 0.22 Browser_Search Cortana
46 021 i u 0.00 f

Any way to fix this?
rommmcek
Posts: 674
Joined: 15 Aug 2014, 15:18

Re: AHK will not override Windows default hotkeys

13 Jan 2019, 16:48

Syntax!

Code: Select all

;pause/play button = space
 vkB3::Send, {space}

;Search button = full screen
*vkAA::Send, f
bkrstmuse
Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Jan 2019, 16:04

Re: AHK will not override Windows default hotkeys

13 Jan 2019, 18:03

Tried that. Still same problem.
rommmcek
Posts: 674
Joined: 15 Aug 2014, 15:18

Re: AHK will not override Windows default hotkeys

13 Jan 2019, 18:37

This is very strange!
Would you mind to test this code and report result?
Btw.: I experience no problems!
bkrstmuse
Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Jan 2019, 16:04

Re: AHK will not override Windows default hotkeys

13 Jan 2019, 19:51

both LWin & Right:: and #Right:: produce the same result:

5B 15B d 4.77 LWin
27 14D h d 0.22 Right
11 01D i d 0.00 Control
11 01D i u 0.00 Control
5B 15B i u 0.00 LWin
23 14F i d 0.00 End
23 14F i u 0.00 End
11 01D i d 0.00 Control
5B 15B i d 0.00 LWin
11 01D i u 0.00 Control
27 14D s u 0.16 Right
5B 15B u 0.06 LWin
A2 01D i d 0.00 LControl
A2 01D i u 0.00 LControl

I also tried this and it seems to work fine and override the windows-d command fine:
#d::
send, d
return

It only seems to create a problem when AHK is trying to take over multimedia keys.
gregster
Posts: 2958
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 06:48

Re: AHK will not override Windows default hotkeys

14 Jan 2019, 01:00

bkrstmuse wrote:
13 Jan 2019, 19:51
It only seems to create a problem when AHK is trying to take over multimedia keys.
Strange, I have disabled/changed the functions of my multimediakeys without glitch for years now.
WhicH AHK version are you running?
rommmcek
Posts: 674
Joined: 15 Aug 2014, 15:18

Re: AHK will not override Windows default hotkeys

14 Jan 2019, 03:53

bkrstmuse wrote:both LWin & Right:: and #Right:: produce the same result:
Did Win + Right keys in any case trigger Start menu?
P.s.: To override multimedia keys you might try:

Code: Select all

;pause/play button = space
vkB3::Send % " "

;Search button = full screen
*vkAA::Send % "f"
P.p.s.: What about testing it with a different keyboard (hardware)?, besides when having unexpected results I tend to test running script as administrator.
bkrstmuse
Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Jan 2019, 16:04

Re: AHK will not override Windows default hotkeys

14 Jan 2019, 11:18

rommmcek wrote:
14 Jan 2019, 03:53
bkrstmuse wrote:both LWin & Right:: and #Right:: produce the same result:
Did Win + Right keys in any case trigger Start menu?
P.s.: To override multimedia keys you might try:

Code: Select all

;pause/play button = space
vkB3::Send % " "

;Search button = full screen
*vkAA::Send % "f"
P.p.s.: What about testing it with a different keyboard (hardware)?, besides when having unexpected results I tend to test running script as administrator.
Wow, running as administrator did the trick! Thanks!
Anyway, here are the answers to your questions:

1. Win + Right keys did not trigger anything, and it seems to have overridden the default "snap to right" Windows function.
2. I tried your new code and it still does the same thing.
3. I tried using the media buttons on different hardware (logitech k270) and for some reason those buttons don't trigger AHK. The keylogger doesn't detect it at all. Weird.
rommmcek
Posts: 674
Joined: 15 Aug 2014, 15:18

Re: AHK will not override Windows default hotkeys

14 Jan 2019, 12:04

Thanks for the feedback!
Yeah, modern Windows (Win8+) require sometimes admin. Probably depending on security settings, but I don't know much about that.
For other hardware (keyboard), try at least to log off or even restart OS, if you didn't do that already.

Return to “Ask For Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: clarsondd, Getfree, Lorenz, MannyKSoSo, PENpal, suoabb, teadrinker, tmplinshi and 50 guests