Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

Community news and information about new or upcoming versions of AutoHotkey
guest3456
Posts: 2570
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 10:31

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

08 Apr 2018, 10:59

i believe AHK_H has been using this for a while, maybe some hints/bugs can be gleaned from its source

Daniel Beardsmore
Posts: 13
Joined: 23 Jul 2016, 15:57

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

08 Apr 2018, 13:21

TAC109 wrote: 1. When compiling there were often transient file errors when trying to create the .exe. (I keep my sources in a Dropbox folder.) There errors do not occur with the standard version. (I believe that the file handling and error checking in the standard version was greatly enhanced after the fork for this version.)
Oh, so that's not just me then — I get that a lot! Something to do with having the files on a network share I guess, causes havoc with file access. I've got a compile script that can see all five attempts to get a compilation to work, fail due to file access.
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 7242
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

08 Apr 2018, 15:49

It needs fincs. ;)
I could possibly go through it later this summer, do some testing and clean out the kinks....
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500 @ 4.00 GHz, 2x8GB DDR4 3143 MHz, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB | [About Me] | [ASPDM - StdLib Distribution]
[Populate the AHK MiniCity!] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library] | [About the AHK Foundation]
User
Posts: 407
Joined: 26 Jun 2017, 08:12

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

20 Sep 2018, 21:56

Why [Script Filename] parameter is not allowed for compiled scripts? Thanks!
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 7242
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

21 Sep 2018, 19:55

You mean like mention here? https://autohotkey.com/docs/Scripts.htm#cmd

That's because compiled already have an attached script. Just use autohotkey.exe if you want to run scripts this way...
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500 @ 4.00 GHz, 2x8GB DDR4 3143 MHz, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB | [About Me] | [ASPDM - StdLib Distribution]
[Populate the AHK MiniCity!] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library] | [About the AHK Foundation]
User
Posts: 407
Joined: 26 Jun 2017, 08:12

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

22 Sep 2018, 01:04

joedf wrote:That's because compiled already have an attached script. Just use autohotkey.exe if you want to run scripts this way...
Well, I found out that AHK_H does exactly what I want and AHK_L should definitely be able to do the same (but it does not, unfortunately)!
User avatar
JoeWinograd
Posts: 1268
Joined: 10 Feb 2014, 20:00

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

05 Apr 2019, 16:07

I just became aware of this functionality in Ahk2Exe. I took a quick spin through all six pages of this thread and see some issues being raised about certain features, but I want to use it only for the ;@Ahk2Exe-SetProp Value feature. I downloaded it from the button at the top of the thread. It has worked fine so far, but the title bar comes up with v1.1.19.01, while the current AHK V1 release is v1.1.30.03. I always stay current with AHK V1 releases and am wondering if there could be any problems in staying with this v1.1.19.01 compiler as AHK V1 moves forward, with the caveat that I continue to use it for only the ;@Ahk2Exe-SetProp Value feature. Thanks for your thoughts. Regards, Joe
lexikos
Posts: 6591
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 04:07
GitHub: Lexikos

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

05 Apr 2019, 16:35

As long as there is no fundamental change in the way that compilation works, it should continue to work. Some newer features require compiler support and therefore won't work - e.g. #Include variables. I would suggest merging this version with the current version (merge master and edge branches).
User avatar
JoeWinograd
Posts: 1268
Joined: 10 Feb 2014, 20:00

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

05 Apr 2019, 16:51

> As long as there is no fundamental change in the way that compilation works, it should continue to work.

Thanks, good to know.

> Some newer features require compiler support and therefore won't work - e.g. #Include variables.

Understood.

> I would suggest merging this version with the current version (merge master and edge branches).

Great idea! Beyond my skill set...hoping for fincs or someone else with the requisite skills to jump in. Regards, Joe
lexikos
Posts: 6591
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 04:07
GitHub: Lexikos

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

05 Apr 2019, 17:53

Beyond my skill set...
I do not think that it would be overstating to say that you are perfectly capable of learning to perform a merge in git, and of editing scripts. It really is not difficult. Having virtually no prior experience in C++ didn't stop me from forking AutoHotkey. Given my own mindset and experiences, I can't help but assume the real problem is a lack of motivation, or lack of confidence.

(I don't mean to judge or single out; my words are meant for anyone who claims lack of skill as a reason to not contribute directly.)
guest3456
Posts: 2570
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 10:31

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

05 Apr 2019, 18:07

lexikos wrote:
05 Apr 2019, 17:53
Having virtually no prior experience in C++ didn't stop me from forking AutoHotkey.
impressive. and i agree with the tone of your post. obviously its impressive learning that skill, but also impressive that you were motivated enough to learn to do it.

User avatar
JoeWinograd
Posts: 1268
Joined: 10 Feb 2014, 20:00

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

05 Apr 2019, 18:55

Not a lack of confidence. Having started my career in the design and coding of the internals (the kernel, including the interrupt handler and task/process scheduler) of a mainframe time-sharing, demand paging, virtual memory operating system (all in assembly language), confidence is not the issue...neither is C++, although I've never written a line of code in it (or any C variant...and never did anything with Git). Depending on your definition, I could accept the "lack of motivation" argument, but it really comes down to how to spend the 24 hours in a day, i.e., on what to be motivated. Fair to say that my motivation right now is on all my programs written in AHK, and likely the "Beyond my skill set..." statement wasn't accurate. Better would have been "Beyond my current knowledge and I don't wish to take the time now to learn C++ and Git...prefer to spend the time on my AHK programs". And, help others in this forum, whenever I can. :) Regards, Joe
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 7242
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

06 Apr 2019, 08:52

I could give it a try maybe sometime. I haven't pushed for this, as I wasn't sure fincs believed it to be "ready" or not...
What everyone's take on this?
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500 @ 4.00 GHz, 2x8GB DDR4 3143 MHz, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB | [About Me] | [ASPDM - StdLib Distribution]
[Populate the AHK MiniCity!] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library] | [About the AHK Foundation]
User avatar
JoeWinograd
Posts: 1268
Joined: 10 Feb 2014, 20:00

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

06 Apr 2019, 10:13

> What everyone's take on this?

Hi Joe,
I can't say if it's "ready"...haven't used it enough. I tried it on a small, test script and then on one of my fairly large ones (3,000+ lines) and it is working fine, but my entire testing time frame is in the one-day range...not a lot to go on. Regards, Joe
tmplinshi
Posts: 1502
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 14:57

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

06 Apr 2019, 11:22

I've been using it for years without any problems.
TAC109
Posts: 363
Joined: 02 Oct 2013, 19:41
Location: New Zealand

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

06 Apr 2019, 19:08

joedf wrote:
06 Apr 2019, 08:52
I could give it a try maybe sometime. I haven't pushed for this, as I wasn't sure fincs believed it to be "ready" or not...
What everyone's take on this?
I have some free time to look at this as well. I’ve been investigating Ahk2Exe recently to get ideas for XRef so I have a little familiarity with it. If you want me to proceed let me know. I’ll need to get up to speed with GitHub.
My programs:-
ReClip - a Text Reformatting and Clip Management utility
XRef - Produces Cross Reference lists for scripts
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 7242
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

07 Apr 2019, 04:05

Yeah I think we could fork in under ahkscript’s GitHub. But really, I think it would just be a matter of merging and maybe some testing. See what you can get working in the meantime, I won’t be looking at it for maybe 2 months at least... :b
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500 @ 4.00 GHz, 2x8GB DDR4 3143 MHz, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB | [About Me] | [ASPDM - StdLib Distribution]
[Populate the AHK MiniCity!] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library] | [About the AHK Foundation]
guest3456
Posts: 2570
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 10:31

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

09 Apr 2019, 09:35

JoeWinograd wrote:
05 Apr 2019, 18:55
"I don't wish to take the time now to learn C++ and Git...prefer to spend the time on my AHK programs".
i will say that once you learn git you will never write a line of code again without using it. google "version control" and learn about why its so essential. i use git to manage all of my AHK programs and every other piece of code i write. have you ever fixed a bug before, only to later realize that you've now broken something else, but the old code is gone and you can no longer restore it to figure out the old functionality? have you ever wanted to try to add 2 new features simultaneously without breaking each? etc etc. there is a reason everyone is on github.

iseahound
Posts: 460
Joined: 13 Aug 2016, 21:04
GitHub: iseahound

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

09 Apr 2019, 11:08

Have you ever messed with the commit tree, accidentally deleted too many commits, then ran a whole bunch of git commands to locate your lost code, given up, then re-cloned your whole commit tree from the origin, and now you're working across two versions to locate your lost code when you could have just typed

Code: Select all

git reflog show
followed by

Code: Select all

git reset 8fccf84
to undo your mistakes?
User avatar
kczx3
Posts: 906
Joined: 06 Oct 2015, 21:39

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

09 Apr 2019, 15:53

iseahound wrote:
09 Apr 2019, 11:08
Have you ever messed with the commit tree, accidentally deleted too many commits, then ran a whole bunch of git commands to locate your lost code, given up, then re-cloned your whole commit tree from the origin, and now you're working across two versions to locate your lost code when you could have just typed

Code: Select all

git reflog show
followed by

Code: Select all

git reset 8fccf84
to undo your mistakes?
This ^^^

Return to “Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest