AHK Studio

Editor for AutoHotkey written completely in AutoHotkey.

Moderator: maestrith

User avatar
maestrith
Posts: 817
Joined: 16 Oct 2013, 13:52

Re: AHK Studio

25 Jun 2020, 19:45

John H Wilson III 05/29/51 - 03/01/2020. You will be missed.AHK Studio OSDGUI Creator
Donations
Discord
All code is done on a 64 bit Windows 10 PC Running AutoHotkey x32
User avatar
kczx3
Posts: 1117
Joined: 06 Oct 2015, 21:39

Re: AHK Studio

25 Jun 2020, 20:03

@maestrith
Thank you very much!
User avatar
maestrith
Posts: 817
Joined: 16 Oct 2013, 13:52

Re: AHK Studio

25 Jun 2020, 20:06

kczx3 wrote:
25 Jun 2020, 20:03
@maestrith
Thank you very much!
You are most welcome.
John H Wilson III 05/29/51 - 03/01/2020. You will be missed.AHK Studio OSDGUI Creator
Donations
Discord
All code is done on a 64 bit Windows 10 PC Running AutoHotkey x32
BannerStore
Posts: 73
Joined: 06 Sep 2017, 19:29

Re: AHK Studio

28 Jun 2020, 14:34

Hello, folks,

Converting AHK-Studio.ahk into AHK-Studio.exe. Error occurs with recent versions.
I had a question about converting AHK Studio into an executable. Previous versions, I would just compile the ahk script to convert it into an executable. But, now a compiling error appears which I have no idea what it means because I am a newb programmer.

Why do I want an executable when I can simply double-click AHK-Studio.ahk?
I would like to make AHK studio into an executable so that I can add it to my program launcher, KeyPirinha. KeyPirinha only launches EXE files located in the start menu.

Now, if I want to launch AHK studio, I have to look it up via my search engine and then double-click it. Easy, right? Instead, I always launch KeyPirinha, my launcher, start typing ahk..., then stop as I remember that KeyPirinha won't work, click out, start my search engine... You get the idea. I can't stop myself from always first launching KeyPirinha.

Can someone tell me how to convert AHK-Studio into an executable? Also, if you can explain how you did it, it would be great because then I can do it myself with future versions of AHK-Studio. Perhaps, the developer can just include an EXE form of AHK-Studio?


Changing the Title of this Very Well-Programmed Editor
I know that this will first come to a shock to the developer of AHK Studio and he might feel insulted. Please don't. I would like to respectfully propose that you slightly alter the title of the script. Why? Well, I use AHK Studio a lot but it's not really a studio. Saying studio suggests that the entire environment is used to edit everything. I keep forgetting the name, AHK Studio because I'm stupid. I agree that names should be unique so when you search for them, you won't get a million hits. Studio is indeed a unique word. File Changer, for example, would be the worst. Wait, The File would be the worst. :D

I actually changed the name of your program to AHK Studio Editor on my computer but it's a pain because errors occur and I have to change so many files when a new version comes out. Can you change the name to something unique but more apropos? Maybe like Magical AHK Editor? Ok, that's lame but I'm sure people here can think of better names.
toralf
Posts: 789
Joined: 27 Apr 2014, 21:08
Location: Germany

Re: AHK Studio

28 Jun 2020, 14:59

You could write a small script that just starts the editor as a script. Then you can compile this starter script. So you can find/use it in your program.

And this small script can have a name of your liking so you can find it better.
ciao
toralf
User avatar
maestrith
Posts: 817
Joined: 16 Oct 2013, 13:52

Re: AHK Studio

29 Jun 2020, 21:08

AHK Studio "Should" compile itself. Alt+M Compile AHK Studio.
John H Wilson III 05/29/51 - 03/01/2020. You will be missed.AHK Studio OSDGUI Creator
Donations
Discord
All code is done on a 64 bit Windows 10 PC Running AutoHotkey x32
BannerStore
Posts: 73
Joined: 06 Sep 2017, 19:29

Re: AHK Studio

01 Jul 2020, 21:35

Try it. It doesn't. It says there is an error. No idea why because I'm dumb.
maestrith wrote:
29 Jun 2020, 21:08
AHK Studio "Should" compile itself. Alt+M Compile AHK Studio.
BannerStore
Posts: 73
Joined: 06 Sep 2017, 19:29

Re: AHK Studio

01 Jul 2020, 21:36

I guess I can do that doesn't that contribute to bloat?
maestrith wrote:
29 Jun 2020, 21:08
AHK Studio "Should" compile itself. Alt+M Compile AHK Studio.
toralf
Posts: 789
Joined: 27 Apr 2014, 21:08
Location: Germany

Re: AHK Studio

01 Jul 2020, 22:46

What error message is shown?
ciao
toralf
User avatar
maestrith
Posts: 817
Joined: 16 Oct 2013, 13:52

Re: AHK Studio

01 Jul 2020, 23:08

I just tried compiling Studio, Alt+M Compile AHK Studio{Enter} and it worked. I'm not too sure what's going on with your version :(
John H Wilson III 05/29/51 - 03/01/2020. You will be missed.AHK Studio OSDGUI Creator
Donations
Discord
All code is done on a 64 bit Windows 10 PC Running AutoHotkey x32
mattcrf
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Feb 2017, 15:41

Re: AHK Studio

03 Jul 2020, 02:50

Hi, maestrith

These characters (ç é ã ô ) are not being displayed correctly on the DebugWindow().
Is there a way to fix it?
User avatar
maestrith
Posts: 817
Joined: 16 Oct 2013, 13:52

Re: AHK Studio

03 Jul 2020, 06:55

mattcrf wrote:
03 Jul 2020, 02:50
Hi, maestrith

These characters (ç é ã ô ) are not being displayed correctly on the DebugWindow().
Is there a way to fix it?
Updated. Should now work. Thanks for the report!
John H Wilson III 05/29/51 - 03/01/2020. You will be missed.AHK Studio OSDGUI Creator
Donations
Discord
All code is done on a 64 bit Windows 10 PC Running AutoHotkey x32
BannerStore
Posts: 73
Joined: 06 Sep 2017, 19:29

Re: AHK Studio

03 Jul 2020, 08:03

Maestrith,

I finally figured out why it wouldn’t compile. I was using Alt-M as a hotkey for something else so that interfered with the compile process for ahk-studio. (I think there is an authokey script floating around that suggests using Alt+M as a hotkey to insert mathematical symbols.) Strangely, I don't think it interfered when I compiled other scripts but I may be wrong. (I have already changed my hotkey.)

Don't worry about it. It's not a big deal. Thanks for your help! Appreciate it!
User avatar
maestrith
Posts: 817
Joined: 16 Oct 2013, 13:52

Re: AHK Studio

03 Jul 2020, 08:07

BannerStore wrote:
03 Jul 2020, 08:03
Maestrith,

I finally figured out why it wouldn’t compile. I was using Alt-M as a hotkey for something else so that interfered with the compile process for ahk-studio. (I think there is an authokey script floating around that suggests using Alt+M as a hotkey to insert mathematical symbols.) Strangely, I don't think it interfered when I compiled other scripts but I may be wrong. (I have already changed my hotkey.)

Don't worry about it. It's not a big deal. Thanks for your help! Appreciate it!
Ah yes....the great thing about AHK is that you can have any hotkeys you want!
The bad thing about AHK is that you can have any hotkeys you want....
John H Wilson III 05/29/51 - 03/01/2020. You will be missed.AHK Studio OSDGUI Creator
Donations
Discord
All code is done on a 64 bit Windows 10 PC Running AutoHotkey x32
BannerStore
Posts: 73
Joined: 06 Sep 2017, 19:29

Re: AHK Studio

03 Jul 2020, 08:18

Haha....you're quick on the quips. Good one.

By the way, are you a programmer in terms of work? You must like to make pretty and practical things. Anything else you are working on that you'd like to share and that's interesting?

I actually would love to program new stuff but I have almost zero experience as a programmer. There are so much stuff I think that tech is missing. So many good ideas that aren't being made. Instead we get sites like Jet.com that was terrible and bought out for 3 billion. Totally don't understand.
maestrith wrote:
03 Jul 2020, 08:07
BannerStore wrote:
03 Jul 2020, 08:03
Maestrith,

I finally figured out why it wouldn’t compile. I was using Alt-M as a hotkey for something else so that interfered with the compile process for ahk-studio. (I think there is an authokey script floating around that suggests using Alt+M as a hotkey to insert mathematical symbols.) Strangely, I don't think it interfered when I compiled other scripts but I may be wrong. (I have already changed my hotkey.)

Don't worry about it. It's not a big deal. Thanks for your help! Appreciate it!
Ah yes....the great thing about AHK is that you can have any hotkeys you want!
The bad thing about AHK is that you can have any hotkeys you want....
User avatar
maestrith
Posts: 817
Joined: 16 Oct 2013, 13:52

Re: AHK Studio

03 Jul 2020, 08:23

BannerStore wrote:
03 Jul 2020, 08:18
Haha....you're quick on the quips. Good one.

By the way, are you a programmer in terms of work? You must like to make pretty and practical things. Anything else you are working on that you'd like to share and that's interesting?

I actually would love to program new stuff but I have almost zero experience as a programmer. There are so much stuff I think that tech is missing. So many good ideas that aren't being made. Instead we get sites like Jet.com that was terrible and bought out for 3 billion. Totally don't understand.
maestrith wrote:
03 Jul 2020, 08:07
Currently I guess I am technically a programmer. When I started in 2005 I was not. AHK is the first, and until recently only, language that I took the time to learn. I still don't know everything and am constantly learning. Keep at it and you will be able to solve any problem you might have!
John H Wilson III 05/29/51 - 03/01/2020. You will be missed.AHK Studio OSDGUI Creator
Donations
Discord
All code is done on a 64 bit Windows 10 PC Running AutoHotkey x32
BannerStore
Posts: 73
Joined: 06 Sep 2017, 19:29

Re: AHK Studio

03 Jul 2020, 09:23

So, you make AHK programs for work! I didn’t realize you could do that. Good luck!

For me, I realize that I'm going to stop learning AHK intensively. It's so much work and effort to figure out the smallest things. If I was at school and I could take courses, I would definitely learn but learning here and there is too difficult for me since I don't use it that often. eg. I'll try to make a program 2 weeks later and I'll have forgotten all the basic functions and syntax already so I have to relearn it. Then, it takes me a few hours a day for a week to make a very, small program. It's A LOT more efficient if I just pay someone and not deal with the aggravation even though I like the mathematical precision and logic of programming.

If you are ever up for wanting to build or discuss a new language, OS, productivity saver, etc, let me know. I'm trying to form a group of people who wants to do it for fun. And, if you know of any sites where I can find people who are interested in stuff like this, please let me know. Thanks again.
mattcrf
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Feb 2017, 15:41

Re: AHK Studio

04 Jul 2020, 21:41

maestrith wrote:
03 Jul 2020, 06:55
mattcrf wrote:
03 Jul 2020, 02:50
Hi, maestrith

These characters (ç é ã ô ) are not being displayed correctly on the DebugWindow().
Is there a way to fix it?
Updated. Should now work. Thanks for the report!
It's working fine now :D
Thank you very much
User avatar
maestrith
Posts: 817
Joined: 16 Oct 2013, 13:52

Re: AHK Studio

04 Jul 2020, 21:46

mattcrf wrote:
04 Jul 2020, 21:41
maestrith wrote:
03 Jul 2020, 06:55
mattcrf wrote:
03 Jul 2020, 02:50
Hi, maestrith

These characters (ç é ã ô ) are not being displayed correctly on the DebugWindow().
Is there a way to fix it?
Updated. Should now work. Thanks for the report!
It's working fine now :D
Thank you very much
Yay :)
John H Wilson III 05/29/51 - 03/01/2020. You will be missed.AHK Studio OSDGUI Creator
Donations
Discord
All code is done on a 64 bit Windows 10 PC Running AutoHotkey x32
BannerStore
Posts: 73
Joined: 06 Sep 2017, 19:29

AHK-Studio.exe produces an error.

12 Jul 2020, 21:10

Oops...I did it again. I'm not that innocent.

The last time, I had tried to compile AHK-Studio.ahk to create AHK-Studio.exe and an error dialog appeared.

This time, an error dialog appeared when I executed AHK-Studio.exe. I have attached a picture of the error dialog.

*In case people don't remember, I have to use AHK-Studio.exe to use AHK-Studio because my program launcher (KeyPirinha) only recognizes EXE files.
Attachments
AHK-Studio_sQ4sZwpUVt.png
AHK-Studio_sQ4sZwpUVt.png (41.37 KiB) Viewed 585 times

Return to “AHK Studio”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests