Replacing AHK exe app without installing

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
Guest10
Posts: 578
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 02:50

Replacing AHK exe app without installing

27 Oct 2013, 06:46

i have installed the latest version of AHK on one of my computers (computer No. 1). on another computer (computer No. 2) i have the older version installed. can i just copy the core .exe app from computer No. 1 and replace it with the older version on computer No. 2 without uninstalling the older version and installing the latest version of AHK on computer No. 2? :?
RijulAhuja
Posts: 44
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 07:29

Re: Replacing AHK exe app without installing

27 Oct 2013, 07:03

I think so, but you would probably want to copy the compiler as well.
Guest10
Posts: 578
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 02:50

Re: Replacing AHK exe app without installing

27 Oct 2013, 09:40

thanks, replaced only apps and compiler files (1.1.09 >> 1.1.13) -- so far working good! :D
User avatar
empardopo
Posts: 336
Joined: 06 Oct 2013, 12:50
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Replacing AHK exe app without installing

27 Oct 2013, 10:24

How can i know what version of Autohotkey I have installed?
Thanks!
Everything is possible!
RijulAhuja
Posts: 44
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 07:29

Re: Replacing AHK exe app without installing

27 Oct 2013, 10:41

Run this code.
MsgBox % A_AHKVersion
User avatar
empardopo
Posts: 336
Joined: 06 Oct 2013, 12:50
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Replacing AHK exe app without installing

27 Oct 2013, 10:56

Is it normal I get the number 1.1.11.01?

A question, % var is equivalent to %var%?
Everything is possible!
Guest10
Posts: 578
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 02:50

Re: Replacing AHK exe app without installing

27 Oct 2013, 11:22

RijulAhuja wrote:Run this code.
MsgBox % A_AHKVersion
now when i run this i get 1.1.13.00 :D
RijulAhuja
Posts: 44
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 07:29

Re: Replacing AHK exe app without installing

27 Oct 2013, 11:33

empardopo wrote:Is it normal I get the number 1.1.11.01?
No, the latest version is 1.1.13.01. You can get it from this direct link.
Also, I suggest you implement a check for the latest version in your master script, by calling this function from its auto execute section.

Code: Select all

CheckAHKLatest()
{
;requires internet access
URLDownloadToFile, http://l.autohotkey.net/version.txt, % A_Temp "\version.txt"
FileRead, LatestVersion, % A_Temp "\version.txt"
If (A_AhkVersion<LatestVersion)
	MsgBox, Please update your AHK.`n`nInstalled version`n%A_AhkVersion%`n`nLatest version`n%LatestVersion%
FileDelete, % A_Temp "\version.txt"
return
}
empardopo wrote:A question, % var is equivalent to %var%?
No. %, that is, percent followed by a space, forces expression mode, while %var% finds the value stored in var.
RijulAhuja
Posts: 44
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 07:29

Re: Replacing AHK exe app without installing

27 Oct 2013, 11:44

Guest10 wrote:
RijulAhuja wrote:Run this code.
MsgBox % A_AHKVersion
now when i run this i get 1.1.13.00 :D
The latest version is now 1.1.13.01 :P
lexikos
Posts: 9583
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 04:07
Contact:

Re: Replacing AHK exe app without installing

28 Oct 2013, 04:37

Why avoid installing? The installer also updates the help file.
Guest10
Posts: 578
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 02:50

Re: Replacing AHK exe app without installing

28 Oct 2013, 06:11

i forgot to mention that i also replaced the help file. :ugeek:
lexikos wrote:Why avoid installing? The installer also updates the help file.
Alibaba
Posts: 480
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 16:15
Location: Germany

Re: Replacing AHK exe app without installing

28 Oct 2013, 18:14

empardopo wrote:A question, % var is equivalent to %var%?
it's an expression (RijulAhuja already said)
Read this if you're interested further:
http://www.autohotkey.com/docs/Variable ... xpressions
"Nothing is quieter than a loaded gun." - Heinrich Heine
User avatar
empardopo
Posts: 336
Joined: 06 Oct 2013, 12:50
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Replacing AHK exe app without installing

28 Oct 2013, 18:18

Thanks for your info.
Greetings!
Everything is possible!
RijulAhuja
Posts: 44
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 07:29

Re: Replacing AHK exe app without installing

29 Oct 2013, 11:22

lexikos wrote:Why avoid installing? The installer also updates the help file.
Thanks, I forgot about that. So, is installing the same as extracting, setting up file associations, and adding stuff to the right click menu ?
Guest10
Posts: 578
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 02:50

Re: Replacing AHK exe app without installing

29 Oct 2013, 11:37

how about updating the registry. does it do that? :ugeek:

Return to “Ask for Help (v1)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Chunjee and 351 guests