[solved] Context menu under Windows 10 has no AHK entries

Get help with using AutoHotkey and its commands and hotkeys
User avatar
Micromegas
Posts: 199
Joined: 28 Apr 2015, 23:02
Location: Germany

[solved] Context menu under Windows 10 has no AHK entries

01 Apr 2016, 18:13

The context menu, which is available via right-click on an .ahk file, had the entries Compile script and Edit script on my old computer. I just installed AHK on Win 10 and rebooted, but the menu entries are missing. How to get them?
Last edited by Micromegas on 05 Apr 2016, 17:55, edited 1 time in total.
Guest

Re: Context menu under Windows 10 has no AHK entries

01 Apr 2016, 19:12

Maybe you installed the portable version?
Installing AHK from here should do the trick :
https://autohotkey.com/download/ahk-install.exe
User avatar
Micromegas
Posts: 199
Joined: 28 Apr 2015, 23:02
Location: Germany

Re: Context menu under Windows 10 has no AHK entries

01 Apr 2016, 22:24

I don't think I did. If the file name is any indication, it was AutoHotkey112305_Install.exe – the same name that I get when I click on your link.
Guest

Re: Context menu under Windows 10 has no AHK entries

02 Apr 2016, 06:25

reinstalling should work indeed. sorry if i wasn't as clear as ^^^
lol
User avatar
Micromegas
Posts: 199
Joined: 28 Apr 2015, 23:02
Location: Germany

Re: Context menu under Windows 10 has no AHK entries

02 Apr 2016, 12:41

I did that before I asked here. But I did not uninstall it before reinstalling; would that have made a difference? And is there anything to attend to when doing that radical step?
lexikos
Posts: 6404
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 04:07
GitHub: Lexikos

Re: Context menu under Windows 10 has no AHK entries

02 Apr 2016, 17:51

If you have used "open with" to associate .ahk files with a program (i.e. you have overridden the default association), the default context menu items will not be shown, and reinstalling will not fix it. You need to manually remove your override. Try applying this registry patch:

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\FileExts\.ahk\UserChoice]
User avatar
Micromegas
Posts: 199
Joined: 28 Apr 2015, 23:02
Location: Germany

Re: Context menu under Windows 10 has no AHK entries

05 Apr 2016, 17:55

Perfect, that solved it! Thanks a lot!
guest3456
Posts: 2541
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 10:31

Re: [solved] Context menu under Windows 10 has no AHK entries

29 Dec 2016, 10:14

for reference, ^that reg key wasn't enough for me on Win7, i also had to remove HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.ahk and then reinstall

SSpeed
Posts: 8
Joined: 04 Jul 2018, 09:48

Re: [solved] Context menu under Windows 10 has no AHK entries

20 Mar 2019, 19:19

What solved it for me, was changing the default program for .ahk from AutoHotkeyU64 to AutoHotkey.

Return to “Ask For Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], kronos90, Micahs, Odlanir and 212 guests