My Code Pastes but not in Explorer Window

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
pivotphone
Posts: 18
Joined: 03 Sep 2022, 12:09

My Code Pastes but not in Explorer Window

Post by pivotphone » 29 Sep 2022, 05:01

Hi Guys, I am hoping to use

Code: Select all

!/::
send, C:\Users\stefan.whitt\Symec\Marketing - Documents\Marketing\Marketing\Campaigns\September
return
This works in chrome and other programs, but doesn't work when trying to enter the path in a save dialog box in windows.

Any thoughts why this might not be working?

gregster
Posts: 9002
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 06:48

Re: My Code Pastes but not in Explorer Window

Post by gregster » 29 Sep 2022, 05:09

Perhaps https://www.autohotkey.com/docs/FAQ.htm#uac.
Edit: Here, sending to File Explorer works. But a "save dialog box in windows" might belong to a different program with different permissions, I guess...

It doesn't work how? Nothing pasted at all (then see above), or wrong characters? In the latter case, I would try {text} mode with send/sendinput.
Last edited by gregster on 29 Sep 2022, 05:14, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: edit

User avatar
mikeyww
Posts: 26891
Joined: 09 Sep 2014, 18:38

Re: My Code Pastes but not in Explorer Window

Post by mikeyww » 29 Sep 2022, 07:09

This worked in Microsoft Word.

Code: Select all

user := StrReplace(A_Desktop, "\Desktop")

!/:: ; ALT-/
SoundBeep, 1500
SendInput %user%\Symec\Marketing - Documents\Marketing\Marketing\Campaigns\September\
Return

Post Reply

Return to “Ask for Help (v1)”