Help, my external numpad gone weird

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
s_adavan
Posts: 62
Joined: 10 Nov 2020, 06:31

Help, my external numpad gone weird

Post by s_adavan » 23 May 2022, 05:46

Hi there,

About three weeks ago, my external numpad suddenly gone wierd.
And I have not made any changes to my script recently (probably the last time was a half year ago).

whenever I press NumpadEnter one time, there is a series of other keys that follows, = + 00 :
Screenshot 2022-05-02 155531.jpg
Screenshot 2022-05-02 155531.jpg (52.29 KiB) Viewed 883 times
I've tried 'Reload This Script', also tried removing my external numpad and reconnect via bluetooth, but the problem persists.
I have also tried, 'Suspend Hotkeys', and the effect is still there.

I've noticed, normally, after I leave the numpad alone, for a few minutes, it will go back to normal. But there was also occasion, after restarting computer, the problem still persists.
Also sometimes after some other random numpad button is pressed, it can go back to normal.
But it will return again at random time. Or maybe when I pressed too quickly? I can't determine what is the exact cause.

I've just changed my script, particularly numpad 00. I erased the hotkey. because it keeps appearing. but the problem still occurs : (

has anyone experienced this before?
If anyone has any clue or a way to fix it, kindly let me know.

I've so accustomed to my numpad, I cannot operate without it. It's so furstating.

Thank you very much in advance.

User avatar
boiler
Posts: 16900
Joined: 21 Dec 2014, 02:44

Re: Help, my external numpad gone weird

Post by boiler » 23 May 2022, 05:54

It sounds like a hardware problem with the external numpad, not a script issue. I would say the fix is to buy a new one.

User avatar
mikeyww
Posts: 26848
Joined: 09 Sep 2014, 18:38

Re: Help, my external numpad gone weird

Post by mikeyww » 23 May 2022, 05:56

To add to boiler:

My script:

Code: Select all

~NumpadEnter::MsgBox, Test
My key history:

image220523-0654-001_cr.png
Key history
image220523-0654-001_cr.png (6.81 KiB) Viewed 874 times

This is fairly easy to track.

1. If problem happens without any script running, then issue is your keyboard or other software.
2. Else If problem happens only with your script and is resolved when you instead run my script above, then issue is somewhere in your script.

s_adavan
Posts: 62
Joined: 10 Nov 2020, 06:31

Re: Help, my external numpad gone weird

Post by s_adavan » 24 May 2022, 02:49

@boiler @ mikeyww Hello.. thanks for the insight.
After I left it overnight, now it is in its normal state.

At first, I was thinking that might be a hardware problem too. I'm just worried that after I buy a new one, the problem will still persist.
Also, because so far it still can go back to normal on its own.

this might sound absurd: somehow it does feel like, the script has 'wired' into the numpad memory, that's why even after I 'reload' or 'suspend' the script, it's still there.
kind of still in the memory :? ? and it will stuck there for awhile.

Right now I'm trying to ponder, what triggers the problem.
Few days ago I played a game with a separate script. I just simply run and overlay it onto my main script like normal.
It does have a minor problem while in-game, either the 'ctrl' or 'alt' or 'shift' key, randomly got stuck down on it's own.
but after I quickly press all those keys once, it will go back to normal. It's so minor, I have always ignored it.

I've also just noticed I had the *command on the Numpad00 for the game script. I've deleted this now.
I couldn't remember why it's there :? , probably because it just works, so I left it there.

:rainbow: After all, I'm not a computer expert :rainbow:

Probably after too many overlapping or conflicting hotkeys, the system broke down. does this sound make sense? :? nevermind
There is nothing impossible to him who will try. -Alexander the Great-

User avatar
mikeyww
Posts: 26848
Joined: 09 Sep 2014, 18:38

Re: Help, my external numpad gone weird

Post by mikeyww » 24 May 2022, 04:57

If I were in your position, I would assess my step #1. After that, I would assess step #2.

s_adavan
Posts: 62
Joined: 10 Nov 2020, 06:31

Re: Help, my external numpad gone weird

Post by s_adavan » 25 May 2022, 08:43

Hi mikeyww,

I have a few questions, If you dont mind.

My numpad was running ok for two days straight. Until few hours ago, on VCL Player, it went nuts again.
numpadenter became followed by 00 with = and/or +, it went on and on, even on other program like Microsoft Word.

Now, it's ok.

I checked my script, and I found this. I have deleted this now.

Code: Select all

#IfWinActive ahk_exe vlc.EXE

$NumpadEnter:: Send, {Space}								;[View] ➤ Play / Pause
		
#If
Another case:
previously, This is what I had for numpadenter, this is also already deleted now.

Code: Select all

$NumpadEnter::
			KeyWait, NumpadEnter, T0.2 											
			If (ErrorLevel) 
 			{
			Send, {F5}								;Refresh					
			KeyWait, NumpadEnter							
 			}
			else 
			Send, {NumpadEnter}								
			return		
My questions are:
1. Does script like that, either the key combinations, or how it is written, may have any implication on the long run ?
2. do you happen to use external numpad too, will it help if I reformat it into factory state?
I have googled this for few times, surprisingly, it's quite difficult to find.

thanks again. sorry for the bother.
There is nothing impossible to him who will try. -Alexander the Great-

User avatar
mikeyww
Posts: 26848
Joined: 09 Sep 2014, 18:38

Re: Help, my external numpad gone weird

Post by mikeyww » 25 May 2022, 08:51

I see no issues with your script. It also appears that you have not yet arrived at step #1 in my suggestions.

s_adavan
Posts: 62
Joined: 10 Nov 2020, 06:31

Re: Help, my external numpad gone weird

Post by s_adavan » 26 May 2022, 08:17

do you mean the hardware?
I don't know man, It's hard to tell.. maybe 50 50?
Unless if its malfunction permanently, for good, then I can confirm it is the hardware.

If I remember correctly, the very first accident, I was holding this hotkey down, then pressed another hotkey too quickly?

Code: Select all

;$NumpadDel::  				 
			KeyWait, NumpadDel, T0.4
			If (ErrorLevel) 
 			{
			Send, !^{Tab}								;【Change App】	
			Keywait, NumpadDel
			}
			else 
			Send, !{Tab}								;【Change App (Instant)】
			return	


and 'snapped'! .. a combination of fatality, seemed to be.
Since then the cognitive power is down, no longer able to execute a simple hotkey.

but, yes, what puzzled me most is, of course,
why after the script 'suspended' or 'reloaded', the evil force remains?

I'm adding many 'sleep' now, here and there to mitigate.
It's a bit better now. I Think.

Code: Select all

$NumpadEnter::
			KeyWait, NumpadEnter, T0.2 										
			If (ErrorLevel) 
 			{												
			KeyWait, NumpadEnter	
			return						
 			}
			else 
			Sleep, 50
			Send, {Enter}		
			Sleep, 200																		
			return	


I specifically picked my 'special numpad' for autohotkey 'only', now it's broken down before my older keyboard and my older mouse...
not so easy to swallow ya. I'll look into buying a new one later..
There is nothing impossible to him who will try. -Alexander the Great-

BoBo
Posts: 6564
Joined: 13 May 2014, 17:15

Re: Help, my external numpad gone weird

Post by BoBo » 26 May 2022, 08:27

As your AHK specific numpad has only a limited number of keys available, you could think about to use a mobile device (temporarily) to replace it.
Matric (Android), Touch Portal (Android/iOS) and others allow to create auto-related key-panels that could trigger AHK scripts too. JM2€ents

User avatar
boiler
Posts: 16900
Joined: 21 Dec 2014, 02:44

Re: Help, my external numpad gone weird

Post by boiler » 26 May 2022, 09:13

s_adavan wrote: do you mean the hardware?
He means the first step he listed, which is to close all AHK scripts and see if the problem still exists. If so, you can eliminate AHK scripts as the source of the problem. It would either be the hardware or some issue with another piece of software or with Windows. Have you done that?

s_adavan
Posts: 62
Joined: 10 Nov 2020, 06:31

Re: Help, my external numpad gone weird

Post by s_adavan » 27 May 2022, 02:33

Hi thanks.
Yes, of course I have. Many times already.

Basically there are two situations:
1. In its normal state. Everything is ok, with AHK suspended or reloaded.
2. In error situation. it will type wrong, even with the AHK off.

This is now. in normal state.
Screenshot 2022-05-27 150821.jpg
Screenshot 2022-05-27 150821.jpg (25.75 KiB) Viewed 635 times
it went snap just about 15 minutes ago.
but after i pressed here and there, luckily, it canceled the error and fixed back by itself.
I can not pin point the exaxt cause, trigger or fix. too many things to go through.

It might be hardware, half-dead. recently i also updated windows regular update recently, could it be? I don't know.
There is nothing impossible to him who will try. -Alexander the Great-

gregster
Posts: 8988
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 06:48

Re: Help, my external numpad gone weird

Post by gregster » 27 May 2022, 04:16

2. In error situation. it will type wrong, even with the AHK off.
When no AHK script is running, and the error still occurs, AHK can't be the culprit.

User avatar
boiler
Posts: 16900
Joined: 21 Dec 2014, 02:44

Re: Help, my external numpad gone weird

Post by boiler » 27 May 2022, 04:33

Yes, all those paragraphs above about overlapping and conflicting hotkeys, various scripts behaving differently, it’s 50/50 whether it’s hardware or not, describing the various states, etc., were essentially a waste of time for everyone. Scripts don’t “wire” themselves into a keyboard’s memory as you speculated.

There’s no reason to ask any more of the AHK forum members about this unless you want to open a new thread in the “Offtopic” forum regarding the best numpads to buy or something like that.

Post Reply

Return to “Ask for Help (v1)”