AHK inside Autocad

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
wilmath

AHK inside Autocad

Post by wilmath » 22 Jun 2022, 19:22

I am new to AHK and want to create hot keys to use while I am using the Autocad program.
There is a command alias program within autocad but it only works with ordinary commands
and won't work with transparent commands. (Transparent commands are mostly used with
object snaps such as endpoint or intersection and happen during a command.)

I know I have to let AHK know if Autocad is open but I don't know the exact
format and if I need to include the full path to autocad.

Thanks in advance
Rick

boiler

Re: AHK inside Autocad

Post by boiler » 22 Jun 2022, 21:48

You posted in the v2 section of "Ask For Help". Are you sure you're using AHK version 2, which is in beta release? Most new forum members and new AHK users who post here are really using v1, which is still the official release (1.1.34.03 is the latest). If you don't know, run the script below in whichever version you have, and it will tell you which major version you're using.

Code: Select all

v1 := "v2"
MsgBox v1

CptRootBeard

Post by CptRootBeard » 23 Jun 2022, 15:40

I've been using AHK (v2, but v1 would work as well) with AutoCAD for a while now with a good amount of success. What are you trying to do in particular?

If you just want to set up hotkeys, you'll need the #HotIf directive (#If in v1). Here's a trivial example:

;Assuming v2 beta for this example
#Requires AutoHotkey v2.0-beta

;;You'll just need the name of the AutoCAD process (acad.exe)
#HotIf WinActive("ahk_exe acad.exe")

^!d::{
	;F3 is usually a default for toggling OSnaps on and off
	SendInput("{F3}")
	tooltip("You pressed ctrl-alt-d!")
	sleep 600
	tooltip()
}
I've personally had mixed results with external hotkeys in CAD, because its built-in command line would sometimes 'steal' the key presses before they got to AHK.