Disable Tilde withou Disabling the Accent Symbol

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
Smorgydorg
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Dec 2020, 08:33

Disable Tilde withou Disabling the Accent Symbol

Post by Smorgydorg » 24 Sep 2022, 00:50

The script was done years ago and it was driving me nuts when I couldn't use the accent key. I accidentally temporarily fixed that issue, not knowing AHK was the issue, by disabling hotkeys.
My current script text, which someone kindly made for me:

Code: Select all

<!Tab::
return 
<!NumpadEnter::return
`::1
~CapsLock Up::SetCapsLockState, Off

As you see, for some reason it has the accent key, not the tilde key, redirected. But I couldn't use the tilde key either until I disabled hotkeys. In fact, when I restored my keyboard defaults I could use the accent key, but if I then used the shift key to type the tilde the physical key would only type 1s whether or not I pressed shift and it just stayed that way. While I don't want the tilde to work unless I use shift, I do want the accent key to work regardless. So I would like to know what should be changed in this script. Thanks!

Rohwedder
Posts: 7555
Joined: 04 Jun 2014, 08:33
Location: Germany

Re: Disable Tilde withou Disabling the Accent Symbol

Post by Rohwedder » 24 Sep 2022, 03:39

Hallo,
just delete line

Code: Select all

`::1

Smorgydorg
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Dec 2020, 08:33

Re: Disable Tilde withou Disabling the Accent Symbol

Post by Smorgydorg » 26 Sep 2022, 10:05

But what to do if I want to disable the tilde NOT the accent part of that key?

Rohwedder
Posts: 7555
Joined: 04 Jun 2014, 08:33
Location: Germany

Re: Disable Tilde withou Disabling the Accent Symbol

Post by Rohwedder » 27 Sep 2022, 02:48

Hallo,
here, German keyboard layout, works:

Code: Select all

:*?x:~::Return
Since my driver for the English keyboard layout is faulty regarding the key VK_OEM_3(~ `), (I get the characters from the German keyboard layout ^ °), unfortunately I can not test it with it.

Smorgydorg
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Dec 2020, 08:33

Re: Disable Tilde withou Disabling the Accent Symbol

Post by Smorgydorg » 01 Oct 2022, 05:51

Seems like drivers are always faulty with Windows 10 and such. XD I love AHK, I just don't know what I am doing. Come to think of it, the tilde key was only a problem with EA/Origin games like Battlefield, which used the horribly implemented Punkbuster which always detected any AHK or ANY key disabler for that matter as cheating or something. I have no plans to ever play BF again for the rest of my life, so probably this issue is kind of moot.

Post Reply

Return to “Ask for Help (v1)”