Overlay Countdown Timer

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
ItzScience

Overlay Countdown Timer

Post by ItzScience » 27 Oct 2018, 14:05

Hello,

I'm looking for some help creating a simple overlay countdown timer that sits in a specified corner of my screen. Basically, I need it to count down from 5 everytime I press "R", then reset automatically. If possible, and not too complicated, the ability to change the color and size of the text would be awesome!

I'm very new to all of this and have been researching and Googling, but creating it from scratch seems quite daunting as I have zero experience. Links specific and helpful to this inquiry are also much appreciated!

Cheers

EDIT... I have found this: https://bytefreaks.net/applications/on- ... ource-code, and maybe editing it could be the easiest way to complete this for a newbie like myself. Any help much appreciated!

trust_me

Re: Overlay Countdown Timer

Post by trust_me » 28 Oct 2018, 08:17

Just a quick adaption from an existing code : https://autohotkey.com/board/topic/1815 ... ding-time/

; https://autohotkey.com/board/topic/1815 ... ding-time/

;On-screen display (OSD)
CustomColor = 99AA55 ; Can be any RGB color (it will be made transparent below).
Gui +LastFound +AlwaysOnTop -Caption +ToolWindow ; +ToolWindow avoids a taskbar button and an alt-tab menu item.
Gui, Color, %CustomColor%
Gui, Font, s32 ; Set a large font size (32-point).
Gui, Add, Text, vMyText cBlue, 00 ; 00 serve to auto-size the window.

WinSet, TransColor, %CustomColor% ; Make all pixels of this color transparent
Gui, Show, x0 y80 NoActivate ; NoActivate avoids deactivating the currently active window.
return

r:: ; hotkey r will start or reset counting
counter:=0
SetTimer, UpdateOSD, -10 ; to update immediately
SetTimer, UpdateOSD, 1000
return

UpdateOSD:
counter++
time_display:=6-counter ; 6 and not 5 because counter starts with 1
if (time_display=0)
SetTimer, UpdateOSD, off ; stops the counter