Sending class members to functions?

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
Coiler

Sending class members to functions?

Post by Coiler » 10 Dec 2020, 17:55

I'm getting an error when I try to send class member variables to a function - specifically MouseGetPos(). I'm assuming it uses something similar to ByRef on its parameters. The code is simply MouseGetPos( Gesture.PA.X, Gesture.PA.Y ), and the error is "Parameter #1 of MouseGetPos must be a variable." Gesture is a global class, with PA as a nested vector2 class, and X/Y being normal members (I hope) defined in the __New() function as this.X := ***.

I'm new to programming with classes in AHK, but I'm assuming we can normally use member variables as parameters? Am I doing something wrong somewhere? I searched a great deal and could find nothing about this, so I'm hoping I did something incorrectly somewhere. But I've double checked everything.

Is this just because this function captures its args by reference, or perhaps something specific to AHK V2?

Any help is appreciated!

Main part of the vector2 class:

Code: Select all

class XVEC2
{
	; SETUP
	__New(x:=0,y:=0)
	{
		this.X := x
		this.Y := y
	}
}

BoBo

Re: Sending class members to functions?

Post by BoBo » 10 Dec 2020, 19:19

TBH, I only know :arrow: MouseGetPos as a legacy AHK-command (instead of an UDF)???
Might work to 'force an expression' where it expects the variable? Worth a try & yes, I might be wrong :shh:
MouseGetPos,% Gesture.PA.X,% Gesture.PA.Y, ...

kczx3

Post by kczx3 » 10 Dec 2020, 20:52

Pretty sure they have to be plain variables. You can have it output to class properties.

SOTE

Post by SOTE » 11 Dec 2020, 01:17