Problem when activating Autohotkey

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
Elgen-Hillman

Problem when activating Autohotkey

Post by Elgen-Hillman » 18 Jan 2022, 16:00

When I activate my autohotkey file (most noticeable with chrome) my computer starts pausing every 4 or 5 seconds. (Sometimes it even flashes). I can’t type or do anything for several seconds. My computer is fine until I activate autohotkey. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks

boiler

Re: Problem when activating Autohotkey

Post by boiler » 18 Jan 2022, 16:18

What are you doing to activate your AutoHotkey file? Just running a script? Pressing a hotkey? That does what? Can you post the script here?

Elgen-Hillman

Post by Elgen-Hillman » 18 Jan 2022, 18:14

I click on the AHK file to activate it. I have attached the script here. It is really really long. I'm a professor and I use autohot key to grade.
Attachments
EDUC 524 Hot Key 41.ahk
(270.43 KiB) Downloaded 35 times

llinfeng

Post by llinfeng » 18 Jan 2022, 20:11

@Dr. H, I don't think there is anything special about the "long" script you shared. Have you tried running the script on a different computer?

My main AHK script has some 6000 lines of stuff accumulated since 2012 or so, and I kept it running 24/7 (or as long as my workstation is running). I haven't experienced a major performance issue for this long script. (Well, to make things manageable, I used #Include to dispatch things into separate files. In total, the main script has some 2000+ lines, and the largest included file has 4000+ lines.)

Btw, I am using AutoHotkey v1.1.33.10

Hope these may help :)

boiler

Post by boiler » 18 Jan 2022, 20:40