About AHK and RPA tools - Is AHK one of them? Is it robust enough?

Discuss Autohotkey related topics here. Not a place to share code.
Forum rules
Discuss Autohotkey related topics here. Not a place to share code.
letacio

About AHK and RPA tools - Is AHK one of them? Is it robust enough?

Post by letacio » 14 May 2019, 19:49

Hello everybody!

I've been using AHK for 2,5 years now, and i would like to use it for a living (or most of it) in RPA (which would be the main use i think, maybe some automate testing as well).

But i've got some questions. For instance, i don't know if i should focus on AHK, or if i should focus on other tools (UI path, for instance).

I ask this because sometimes AHK seems not very robust, or the scripts are not that stable, needing much detailing, sleep times, and not being able to fully "integrate" to the tasks im doing.

Like browsing the web with x,y mouse clicks , tabs, sleep times to wait for page to load, and so on.

I have the impression that other RPA tools are far more robust, and "integrated" to windows/browsers and stuff, doing tasks at a lower level, and more stable way as well. (instead of click x,y position, get element for the control, and send a click, for instance).

From what i've read so far, other RPA tools are almost the same as AHK (built "on top" of it, you may say). If it's possible to get elements, they do. If not, they do mouse clicks/tabs the same as ahk, and so on.

All that said, i have 2 main questions:

1) Are RPA tools the same as AHK, but with higher level controls, and more "user friendly", reducing the need to know how to program?
In other words: Can AHK do the same as other RPA tools, and be considered a self suficient RPA tool i could specialize in?