What do you use AHK for?

Discuss Autohotkey related topics here. Not a place to share code.
Forum rules
Discuss Autohotkey related topics here. Not a place to share code.
PainFoinmr

What do you use AHK for?

Post by PainFoinmr » 14 Sep 2020, 09:00

Hello!

I recently got a very mundane task at work that had me repeat ctrl+c, ctrl+v and 2 clicks 700 times. I knew you could get some programs that mimic your inputs back when I still played MMOs lol. So anyway, I got some bad quality programs that ended their free trials after a few hundred actions. Then I stumbled upon AHK. It took me about an hour of tutorial and about another hour of trial and error and some googling to completely automatize this particular task. Now, I'm no programmer but I have done some basic coding back in school and for this particular job I also created a web-scraper in Python which is probably my biggest achievement.
Now my question is, what kind of projects is AHK better for than learning more advanced coding languages like Python? I can definitely see myself using AHK for more tasks because it is easy to use, it doens't have tons of libraries and it doens't have complicated syntax. However, I do feel like Python experience would definitely look better on my resume and would eventually be much more better for my personal use if I learned to program with it.

boiler

Re: What do you use AHK for?

Post by boiler » 14 Sep 2020, 10:02

PainFoinmr wrote:
14 Sep 2020, 09:00

Now my question is, what kind of projects is AHK better for than learning more advanced coding languages like Python? I can definitely see myself using AHK for more tasks because it is easy to use, it doens't have tons of libraries and it doens't have complicated syntax. However, I do feel like Python experience would definitely look better on my resume and would eventually be much more better for my personal use if I learned to program with it.