"RALT::AppsKey" in V2 still sends RAlt first, before AppsKey

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v2 or newer) and its commands and hotkeys
thinkstorm
Posts: 7
Joined: 25 Nov 2017, 11:33

"RALT::AppsKey" in V2 still sends RAlt first, before AppsKey

Post by thinkstorm » 27 Jan 2023, 12:15

Code: Select all

; AutoHotkey v2.0.2, Win 11 Pro, Lenovo P1
RALT::AppsKey
still sends RALT. See key capture -- the first line (key down) should see Type "h" for the hook, not the up:

Code: Select all

VK  SC  Type  Up/Dn  Elapsed   Key 
----------------------------------------
A5  138         d     1.01     RAlt   
A5  138   h     u     0.08     RAlt   
5D  15D   i     d     0.00     AppsKey
5D  15D   i     u     0.02     AppsKey 
However, this works fine:

Code: Select all

; AutoHotkey v2.0.2, Win 11 Pro, Lenovo P1
#LALT::AppsKey
here the LALT down correctly gets the Type "h" for the hook (and thus all following are type "i")

Code: Select all

VK  SC  Type Up/Dn Elapsed Key 
----------------------------------------
5B  15B        d    2.03   LWin    
A4  038   h    d    0.28   LAlt    
A2  01D   i    d    0.00   LControl
A2  01D   i    u    0.00   LControl
5B  15B   i    u    0.02   LWin    
5D  15D   i    d    0.00   AppsKey 
A2  01D   i    d    0.00   LControl
5B  15B   i    d    0.00   LWin    
A2  01D   i    u    0.00   LControl
A4  038   h    u    0.06   LAlt    
5D  15D   i    u    0.00   AppsKey 
5B  15B        u    0.30   LWin 
Any clue what's going on here?

[Mod edit: Topic moved to v2 help.]

User avatar
mikeyww
Posts: 26600
Joined: 09 Sep 2014, 18:38

Re: "RALT::AppsKey" in V2 still sends RAlt first, before AppsKey

Post by mikeyww » 28 Jan 2023, 06:16

I'm not an expert in this, but I don't think it necessarily means that the script sent the key. You can perhaps confirm that by changing the hotkey to a visible one. You haven't actually said whether the script works. It does work here.

Code: Select all

#Requires AutoHotkey v2.0
d::AppsKey

thinkstorm
Posts: 7
Joined: 25 Nov 2017, 11:33

Re: "RALT::AppsKey" in V2 still sends RAlt first, before AppsKey

Post by thinkstorm » 01 Feb 2023, 15:53

The AppsKey works just fine :) your script works fine as well.

User avatar
mikeyww
Posts: 26600
Joined: 09 Sep 2014, 18:38

Re: "RALT::AppsKey" in V2 still sends RAlt first, before AppsKey

Post by mikeyww » 01 Feb 2023, 20:08

In that case, it seems like you are achieving your goal with the script, and there is nothing more to do. Enjoy! :wave:

Post Reply

Return to “Ask for Help (v2)”