How can I find the scan code for a non-standard key Topic is solved

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v2 or newer) and its commands and hotkeys
John in NZ

How can I find the scan code for a non-standard key

Post by John in NZ » 10 Jun 2023, 01:34

Hi folks,

I'm very new to AutoHotkey, so as a start I've got an otherwise acceptable keyboard (HP 320 wired keyboard) which has a [Print] key located immediately above the backspace key, so being the sloppy typist I am, I'm forever hitting the Print key ... :oops:

This keyboard has a load of functions assigned to the Function keys which are accessed by pressing the Fn with the F key - for instance [Fn] + [F2] = [Sleep] - that's way harder to explain that it is to do!

What I would like to do is re-assign the [Print] hotkey to [Fn] + [Print], so I can't hit it accidentally and not have to cancel the Print dialogue box, and whilst I'm at it, I might as well reassign the un modified [Print] key to [Backspace].

So, my question is, how can I achieve this?

I know that these keys will have a scan code, but I don't know the name of the key to use the GetKeySC() or GetKeyName()

emp00

Re: How can I find the scan code for a non-standard key

Post by emp00 » 10 Jun 2023, 05:34

Hi @John in NZ -- here you can find the HOTWO-instructions: https://www.autohotkey.com/docs/v1/KeyList.htm#SpecialKeys

Actually, I have exactly the same keyboard and would be interested if you could post your success with the task at hand. My conclusion so far was, that autohotkey cannot detect the Fn and other special keys because they're handled by a special driver (not via the operating system standards). I also tried to find a tool or driver information for this HP keyboard but no luck! Let us know, please.

mikeyww

Re: How can I find the scan code for a non-standard key  Topic is solved

Post by mikeyww » 10 Jun 2023, 07:21