AutoGUI - Script Editor, GUI Designer, Debugger and Tools

Script editor, GUI designer, debugger and tools for AutoHotkey
terenceck
Posts: 2
Joined: 10 Sep 2019, 02:16

Re: AutoGUI - Script Editor, GUI Designer, Debugger and Tools

Post by terenceck » 18 Jun 2020, 23:28

How to fix this?

AutoGUI has not yet been adapted to high-DPI scaling
madsounds
Posts: 53
Joined: 31 May 2019, 08:14

Re: AutoGUI - Script Editor, GUI Designer, Debugger and Tools

Post by madsounds » 19 Jun 2020, 02:40

- Make sure you are running an unmodified version of AutoGUI. You may need to extract the files again to a new location. Also make sure that the settings file (AutoGUI.ini) is being saved in the program folder, otherwise it is on %APPDATA%.
- Replace the function __SendEditor in Scintilla.ahk with this
- And the function __SCI with this
Yes, I've made everything as you said, and there's been no error since then! Thank you again! :dance:
need4speed
Posts: 139
Joined: 22 Apr 2016, 06:50

Re: AutoGUI - Script Editor, GUI Designer, Debugger and Tools

Post by need4speed » 24 Jun 2020, 06:09

@Alguimist
I read you'll working on separating the GUI Creator from the Code Editor. The biggest drawback I see with GUI Creator, is that GUIs cannot be edited after closing GUI Creator. Will this be fixed in the new tool?
ronkwan
Posts: 5
Joined: 04 Nov 2016, 03:41

Re: AutoGUI - Script Editor, GUI Designer, Debugger and Tools

Post by ronkwan » 27 Jun 2020, 04:39

i am new to autoGUI and would like to make it my default .ahk editor on my win7 box so i can right click a .ahk and "Edit Script" with it.

i edit my registry as follow but says something like "its not a win32 application"
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoHotkeyScript\Shell\Edit\Command\
"C:\Program Files\AutoGUI\AutoGUI.ahk" "%1"

i try again using command prompt;
C:\>"Program Files\AutoGUI\AutoGUI.ahk" test.ahk
doesn't work, autoGUI.ahk opened but without my test.ahk file

C:\>"Program Files\AutoGUI\AutoGUI.ahk" c:\test.ahk
work, can read my test.ahk file, so i suspect this is a path name issue?

one might suggest me to compile autoGUI.ahk to .exe, but i run into another problem when i try to run a .ahk script within autoGUI, that's another story.

please help, much thanks.
User avatar
Alguimist
Posts: 374
Joined: 05 Oct 2015, 16:41
Contact:

Re: AutoGUI - Script Editor, GUI Designer, Debugger and Tools

Post by Alguimist » 26 Sep 2020, 06:44

Note: I've been a little absent from the forum, but I'm actively working on software projects.
kczx3 wrote:
11 Jun 2020, 15:59
@Alguimist on a side note, this next version must be a huge leap based on the things I’ve read that you’re working on!
A lot of improvements, new features and optimizations. AutoGUI, now called Adventure, became a flexible and lightweight IDE or advanced text editor, with support for all Scintilla lexers, custom themes and file metadata. I'm hoping to release it up to the end of the year.

@terenceck
See the answer given to flipside555 in this post.

@need4speed
As a separate tool, the GUI designer will no longer be in conflict with the editor in regard to the action that should be taken when opening a file. Thus, opening a file in the GUI designer will be equivalent to "import GUI", where you can choose between the two methods available. I've not devoted too much time for the improvement of this feature in past years, and I'm now considering to implement an XML format.

@ronkwan
In the tools folder of AutoGUI, there's a script called "Default Editor.ahk" that performs this task. I'm also going to provide a compiled version of the editor in the next release.
hced
Posts: 4
Joined: 11 Nov 2019, 13:30

Re: AutoGUI - Script Editor, GUI Designer, Debugger and Tools

Post by hced » 27 Sep 2020, 19:11

@Alguimist How do you get font size to stick? When I set size to 10 in AutoGUI.ini, it resets back to some higher size when opening files.

Secondary question, how do I debug files. When choosing Start Debugging, it asks for an exe file?

Third question, or suggestion: When debugging in SciTE, I have to manually re-open Call Stack and Variable Scope windows every time. If this is the same in AutoGUI, maybe it could be a consideration to add an option where you can have these show up automatically by default. For those who'd like that? However, maybe that's just me :lol:
User avatar
kczx3
Posts: 1253
Joined: 06 Oct 2015, 21:39

Re: AutoGUI - Script Editor, GUI Designer, Debugger and Tools

Post by kczx3 » 28 Sep 2020, 10:38

Alguimist wrote:
26 Sep 2020, 06:44
... AutoGUI, now called Adventure, became a flexible and lightweight IDE or advanced text editor, ...
I like it! Coding is certainly an adventure!
User avatar
Drugwash
Posts: 761
Joined: 29 May 2014, 21:07
Location: Ploieşti, Romania

Re: AutoGUI - Script Editor, GUI Designer, Debugger and Tools

Post by Drugwash » 28 Sep 2020, 12:20

Would the new version be capable of creating/editing multiple GUIs in a single script, or would that be another, far away... adventure? :)
I've deleted my CloudMe account because of GDPR - the now legal base for privacy invasion and data theft.
User avatar
Alguimist
Posts: 374
Joined: 05 Oct 2015, 16:41
Contact:

Re: AutoGUI - Script Editor, GUI Designer, Debugger and Tools

Post by Alguimist » 26 Oct 2020, 15:06

hced wrote: How do you get font size to stick? When I set size to 10 in AutoGUI.ini, it resets back to some higher size when opening files.
Go to View > Change Editor Font. If you modify the ini file, which is not recommended, while the program is running, your modifications will be overwritten when the program is closed.
hced wrote: How do I debug files. When choosing Start Debugging, it asks for an exe file?
It asks for the file to be saved first. Or maybe you are pressing Alt+F5, which asks for an alternative executable.
hced wrote: When debugging in SciTE, I have to manually re-open Call Stack and Variable Scope windows every time. If this is the same in AutoGUI...
I'll leave this way for a while. I have plans to consolidate all debug windows (variables, call stack and error stream) into a single tabbed window. Then, it could be shown up automatically when start debugging.

@Drugwash
I have no plans anymore to provide support for multiple GUIs, specially now that I'm considering to accommodate code generation for other programming languages compatible with Win32 GUI.
User avatar
Drugwash
Posts: 761
Joined: 29 May 2014, 21:07
Location: Ploieşti, Romania

Re: AutoGUI - Script Editor, GUI Designer, Debugger and Tools

Post by Drugwash » 27 Oct 2020, 17:16

Sad to hear that. What if people need multiple GUIs in the other languages that you plan to support? It would be a harsh limitation.
Anyway, keep up the good work!
I've deleted my CloudMe account because of GDPR - the now legal base for privacy invasion and data theft.
Janusz
Posts: 4
Joined: 18 Dec 2020, 17:47

Re: AutoGUI - Script Editor, GUI Designer, Debugger and Tools

Post by Janusz » 19 Dec 2020, 15:27

Dear specialists,
I would like to also publicly express my deepest possible appreciation to The author of AutoGUI scripts. You are really wonderful professional.

Because I do not see at all. I have two questions.
1. When I will add more than one control, are you using special mathematical formula to approximately calculate next control position? Or if I will not use The mouse to draw rectangular and if I will not calculate The position values by using vision, will GUi look acceptably? Or unfortunately, in this case, There will be overlapped GUI elements?
I AM guessing, that making automatic controls placement by using mathematical formulas would be too complex, So is there any compromise solution? So GUI would never look very nicely, because I do not see, but GUI controls will not be overlapping each others? Or unfortunately, there is no work around solution available?
In fact, object position numbering is The pain of every visually impaired GUI creator across every programming languages. So this is only question, if it would be possible to find some solution. So even though if visually impaired programmer would try to create some GUI, GUI would never contain overlapping objects. I Am aware, that there is no solution how to make GUI attractive if somebody would create it without seeing. So my realistic dream is to have objects, which will not be overlapping by each others. And every text contained inside object should be readable.
If it is impossible by using autogui I Am dreaming about other solution.
One advanced developer has already solved this complex task by creating The following long script for Autoid.

https://github.com/jamalmazrui/Layout_by_Code

How complex would be to recode it for Autohodkey?
Thank you very much for yours advices and tips.
With warmest regards.
Janusz Chmiel
Janusz
Posts: 4
Joined: 18 Dec 2020, 17:47

Re: AutoGUI - Script Editor, GUI Designer, Debugger and Tools

Post by Janusz » 20 Dec 2020, 14:27

Autogui is wonderful editor. I love its build in new GUI window, which is even accessible for screen readers users. It is only necessary to be aware, that if user add one control and want to add next controls, it is not possible to use change text context menu item, because Pressing OK button after changing default control text will place The focus to The main app window. So it is possible to add more than one control from A new GUI window. I Am using NVDA. It is necessary to use build in object navigation and it is necessary to find Window object and press INSERT and Slash on numeric keyboard. Then press Insert and star key on Num pad to simulate right mouse click. You can add next control. I would like to know, if there are some build in routines which can automatically calculate new control positions, or if numbers are only randomly added without calculating. I Am sad that if I press OK button after changing text of AN control will place focus to The main window so I can not recall new GUI window again. How complex would be to add hod key, which would recall GUI window but not ALT+g, because this will display error, that only one GUi window can be created at A time. If I will not my desired text, The next control, which I will create could have incorrect calculated position values. I think, that if there is some routines, which calculate every object position, that I would had to really add my desired text values for A control inside New GUI window. No to edit them manually outside New GUi window, because this will create very ugly GUI. Thank you for yours tips and ideas.

According to my opinion, AutoGUI is The best IDE and debugging environment. I Am near to The solution. Sure, I must accept The Windows based nature of Windows OS and when I Am designing Window, I must always do my best to have focus inside Window new gui dialog after creating every new control.
User avatar
Alguimist
Posts: 374
Joined: 05 Oct 2015, 16:41
Contact:

Re: AutoGUI - Script Editor, GUI Designer, Debugger and Tools

Post by Alguimist » 22 Jan 2021, 04:56

@Janusz
Thank you for your comments!

AutoGUI follows some of the user interface design recommendations in regard to accessibility practices such as keyboard shortcuts and access keys for keyboard-based navigation and more than one way to perform the same task, be it with the mouse or the keyboard only, but it doesn't provide shortcuts to focus specific areas of the GUI, other than Tab, Alt (menu bar), F11 (to toggle the visibility of the preview window) and AppsKey (context menu). On the other hand, it does provide keyboard shortcuts to move and resize controls on steps of 1 or 8 pixels, so as to allow precise granularity in the layout.
Post Reply

Return to “AutoGUI”