Multiple ahk-based jump lists; text files as parameter vehicles

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
GosHotk

Multiple ahk-based jump lists; text files as parameter vehicles

Post by GosHotk » 16 Jun 2021, 17:22

I've just switched from Win7 to Win10, and was looking for a way to both open an Explorer window to a particular folder and position the window in terms of left/top/width/height. Windows veterans may know that that was a built-in feature of WinXP (individual folders remembered their last screen positions). And it wasn't built in to Win7, but there was a freeware program (ShellFolderFix) that ran in the background and performed the same function very nicely. But alas, ShellFolderFix apparently doesn't work reliably in Win10, leading to my search for a replacement.

I'm also brand new to both PowerShell and AutoHotkey (although I've done quite a bit of coding in other languages), but I ended up Googling my way to functional scripts in both. Both scripts are a bit clumsy in that the folder first shows on the screen in its Win-default place (i.e., matching the last Explorer window that was closed), then disappears, then reappears in the script-assigned place. But that opening stutter is a considerably-faster blink in AutoHotkey than it is in PowerShell (in my scripts anyway).

I'm also new to jump lists (didn't use them in Win7), but was looking into the possibility of having an AutoHotkey taskbar icon with a jump list of positioned folders. And my initial inclination was to have the five values for each jump list item (folder path, left, top, width, height) be parameters in that item's "target" (not what it's called, I know). But it looks like jump list items can't include multiple parameters. A jump list item consists of just a single parameter (in effect) that gets passed to the pinned program.