Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Enter key and Return key problem

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic
feldruebe
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Last active: Jul 28 2010 02:07 PM
Hi,
I have an acer notebook with a notepad with included numpad
the problem is, whenever i activate num-lock, my return key does not send return interrupts but enter interrupts,
so it's like i hit the enter key and not the return key (for those who don't know, there is a difference between those keys and the program i work with handles them completely differnet (return makes a new line, enter confirms the input)).

so this is extremely annoying because i can't really use the numpad right now and i though this might be changeable with a autohotkey script.

unfortunately im a complete beginner with autohotkey, just stumbled over it a few days ago and didn't do anything with it yet, so i wanted to ask for some help.

What I want to do is:
whenever the return key is hit, i want to catch that interrupt, and send a normal return interrupt, because, for whatever reason, when the numlock key is activated, an enter-interrupt is sent instead.

does anyone of you have an idea of how to do this?

TheAllmighty
  • Guests
  • Last active:
NumpadEnter::Enter[quote]?[/quote]

TheAllmighty
  • Guests
  • Last active:
i meant:
NumpadEnter::Enter
?

feldruebe
  • Members
  • 5 posts
thanks for the fast reply, unfortunately this is not the solution i'm looking for.

the problem is this:
whenever numlock is activated, the return key (over the arrow keys) sends the same interrupt as the enter key (at the right side of the num pad), i don't know what is causing it, probably a driver error from windows.

i tested it by using the script:
!NumpadEnter::MsgBox asdf
this msg box is displayed when i hit the return key with activated num lock
so, for the computer those two keys are absolutely the same.