Touch Screen Keyboard

Post your working scripts, libraries and tools for AHK v1.1 and older
x32
Posts: 177
Joined: 25 Nov 2016, 16:44

Touch Screen Keyboard

05 May 2018, 09:15

I made this on screen keyboard to replace the one that comes with windows tablets. This keyboard keeps the standard layout while taking less vertical space. I have been sitting on this for quite a while trying to figure out the best way to allow customizations. Not sure that what I've come up with is the best way :).

The number keys, fkeys, arrow keys. and others have been layered with the number pad to save space. The four symbols to the left of the number pad navigates between the tabs. Other than that it works exactly like any other keyboard. I have even managed to type directly on my tablet, as apposed to hunt and peck, although it's not easy.

Much of the keyboard is customizable. Text color, button images, background color and background pictures can all be customized by the user. In addition, there are eight user programmable buttons. This script uses the font Wingdings 3, which I'm not sure comes with Windows anymore. If some keys don't make sense, i.e. shows letters instead of symbols, you may need to install it.

There are too many scripts to try to post the code so I have zipped everything needed.


I have used this keyboard on a daily basis for almost a year. However, there were so many changes made while adding the options panel that there are bound to be some bugs. Please let me know if you find any.
Last edited by x32 on 06 Mar 2023, 18:02, edited 1 time in total.
burque505
Posts: 1736
Joined: 22 Jan 2017, 19:37

Re: Touch Screen Keyboard

05 May 2018, 09:53

Hi, X32, it's very nice. I'm testing it on the desktop, so I had to add 'Gui -dpiscale' at about line 130 since my scaling is at 125%.
I have a problem with the four buttons for #, Up-Arrow, F, and ?. They work, but they're a 2X2 grid instead of 1X4.
Maybe it'll work on a tablet for me, I'll post if it does.
X32-small.gif
X32-small.gif (31.27 KiB) Viewed 2594 times
Thanks for sharing, it looks like that was a lot of work.
Regards,
burque505
x32
Posts: 177
Joined: 25 Nov 2016, 16:44

Re: Touch Screen Keyboard

05 May 2018, 10:24

Hmm, strange behavior, I wonder if it's because of the dpi scaling?

If I remember correctly, the four symbols are just text over the tab buttons which each are labeled with a period. It's been a year since I wrote this but I think that's what I did. Any text, when the buttons are on the side of the tabs, rotates 90 degrees and makes the tabs too large to fit on the keyboard.

It looks as though the tab buttons were too large to fit in a row so they formed two rows instead. Reducing the font size for the tabs might fix it.

It also appears that the background image didn't load for the keyboard. The background color had been changed so hopefully it's something you did and not a bug.
burque505
Posts: 1736
Joined: 22 Jan 2017, 19:37

Re: Touch Screen Keyboard

05 May 2018, 10:40

Hi x32, thanks for getting back on this. I changed all the font sizes in the Tabs section to s12, but I still get a 2x2 grid. I can't check with 'Gui -dpiscale' off, because that makes about a third of the keyboard fail to display.
EDIT: I think, for me anyway (Win7 64-bit desktop, 1.1.28.02), the problem is in the tab3 control. I changed it to tab2 and its useable on the desktop, but won't be on a tablet.
Still has text for tab 1 and tab 2 on tab 1, text for tab 3 and tab 4 on tab 2, tabs 3 and 4 are blank and off to the right.
Regards,
burque505
x32
Posts: 177
Joined: 25 Nov 2016, 16:44

Re: Touch Screen Keyboard

05 May 2018, 11:12

Any suggestions on a better way to do the tabs?
AHKStudent
Posts: 1472
Joined: 05 May 2018, 12:23

Re: Touch Screen Keyboard

06 May 2018, 07:01

I like it, will use it when I need the onscreen keyboard Thank You
hd0202
Posts: 183
Joined: 04 Oct 2013, 03:07
Location: Germany near Cologne

Re: Touch Screen Keyboard

20 Jan 2020, 09:14

@burque505 I had similar problems with win 8.1 on desktop. I added

Code: Select all

gui, -dpiscale
and changed the height in

Code: Select all

Gui, Add, Tab3, x935 y0 w283 h250 BackgroundTrans Left Buttons -Wrap, .|.|.|.
; to
Gui, Add, Tab3, x935 y0 w283 h300 BackgroundTrans Left Buttons -Wrap, .|.|.|.
Hubert

Return to “Scripts and Functions (v1)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sirksel and 162 guests