Autohotkey using ePSXe emulator

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
User avatar
empardopo
Posts: 336
Joined: 06 Oct 2013, 12:50
Location: Spain
Contact:

Autohotkey using ePSXe emulator

25 Nov 2013, 12:40

With F3 key in this emulator you can load a State.

This script doesn't work:

Code: Select all

#NoEnv  ; Recommended for performance and compatibility with future AutoHotkey releases.
SendMode Input  ; Recommended for new scripts due to its superior speed and reliability.
SetWorkingDir %A_ScriptDir%  ; Ensures a consistent starting directory.
1::Send {F3}
return
However, this script works fine

Code: Select all

#NoEnv  ; Recommended for performance and compatibility with future AutoHotkey releases.
SendMode Input  ; Recommended for new scripts due to its superior speed and reliability.
SetWorkingDir %A_ScriptDir%  ; Ensures a consistent starting directory.
1::Send {F3 down} {F3 up}
return
I don't understand the difference! Any help, please?

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by SKAN on 25 Nov 2013, 13:05, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Grammar corrected
Everything is possible!
User avatar
nnnik
Posts: 4500
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 01:01
Location: Germany

Re: Autohotkey using ePSXe emulator

27 Nov 2013, 13:46

I am not sure but I think that the difference is that F3 (down up) is pressed longer then just F3.
Recommends AHK Studio
krambob2
Posts: 1
Joined: 01 Dec 2019, 22:37

Re: Autohotkey using ePSXe emulator

01 Dec 2019, 22:40

I know this is an old thread, but the reason the second script works and not the first is that ePSXe is looking for key presses (key up and key down events). Sending the just the key doesn't trigger the up or down event.
Sid4G
Posts: 48
Joined: 02 Apr 2016, 19:11

Re: Autohotkey using ePSXe emulator

02 Dec 2019, 01:39

What's so difficult to understand, you think you type in "loop send 1" and the game will press 1 millions of times a second? The game should run at million frames per second to register the keypresses... Now check how fast psx games run :crazy:
gregster
Posts: 9087
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 06:48

Re: Autohotkey using ePSXe emulator

02 Dec 2019, 02:11

Sid4G wrote:
02 Dec 2019, 01:39
What's so difficult to understand, you think you type in "loop send 1" and the game will press 1 millions of times a second? The game should run at million frames per second to register the keypresses... Now check how fast psx games run :crazy:
SidG4, no need to do the crazy eyes here.

Especially, because nobody even mentioned looping some key or speed, it was simply about the difference between these two variants of sending F3:

Code: Select all

SendMode Input 

1::Send {F3}
2::Send {F3 down} {F3 up}
There is actually a subtle difference, but it's not keypress duration, afaik.

krambob2 wrote:
01 Dec 2019, 22:40
I know this is an old thread, but the reason the second script works and not the first is that ePSXe is looking for key presses (key up and key down events). Sending the just the key doesn't trigger the up or down event.
I think that's not true, Bob. Please look at the keyhistory. One difference is that the up-down syntax allows to send one or several keys while F3 is still in down state. This happens for Send {F3}:

Code: Select all

72  03D	i	d	11.09	F3             	
72  03D	i	u	0.00	F3

But this happens for Send {F3 down} {F3 up}. Please note the space that was included already in the original post above:

Code: Select all

72  03D	i	d	5.51	F3             	
20  039	i	d	0.00	Space          	
20  039	i	u	0.02	Space          	
72  03D	i	u	0.00	F3
If you remove that space and use Send {F3 down}{F3 up}, you get the equivalent of Send {F3}:

Code: Select all

72  03D	i	d	6.64	F3             	
72  03D	i	u	0.00	F3

Return to “Ask for Help (v1)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Spawnova, tabr3 and 222 guests