Run command works from source and U64-compiled but fails U32-compiled - Compiler Bug?

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
anaglypta
Posts: 17
Joined: 10 Nov 2020, 10:18

Re: Run command works from source and U64-compiled but fails U32-compiled - Compiler Bug?

24 Mar 2021, 04:34

I'm happy it worked!

Btw the explorer.exe code was to open the link files, not to open Explorer windows.
It might be worth a try.

Are there any special link files on a default Windows 10 install? So I could try. Thanks.
User avatar
JoeWinograd
Posts: 2209
Joined: 10 Feb 2014, 20:00
Location: U.S. Central Time Zone

Re: Run command works from source and U64-compiled but fails U32-compiled - Compiler Bug?

24 Mar 2021, 09:38

anaglypta wrote:Btw the explorer.exe code was to open the link files, not to open Explorer windows.
Ah, I missed that. Yes, running the link files via explorer.exe works...but now I'm a ShellRun fan, :)
anaglypta wrote:Are there any special link files on a default Windows 10 install?
No. The only shortcuts that gave me problems were the ones to the Microsoft Office apps.

Btw, sorry for the delayed response...was the wee hours in my neck of the woods and I packed it in for the night after my previous post. Thanks again, Joe
guest3456
Posts: 3463
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 10:31

Re: Run command works from source and U64-compiled but fails U32-compiled - Compiler Bug?

08 Jan 2024, 02:00

just ran into this mind boggling issue myself

add this line before the Run command worked:
anaglypta wrote:
23 Mar 2021, 21:55
Based on what gregster said, you could try this:

Code: Select all

if A_Is64bitOS && (A_PtrSize!=8)
	DllCall("kernel32\Wow64DisableWow64FsRedirection", "Ptr*",0)
------
lexikos wrote:
24 Mar 2021, 01:54
When you launch a shortcut file with ShellExecuteEx, most likely some code within that function executes within the current process to locate the appropriate command line and run it. If the current process is 32-bit on a 64-bit system, the command line is being run within the context of Wow64.

When you use ShellRun, explorer.exe launches the command-line. On 64-bit systems, the process is 64-bit.
if we always run ahk64-bit, then we avoid this problem altogether?


Return to “Ask for Help (v1)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: whoops and 183 guests