How to send data into a selected column of cells in an app - Not excel ?

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
hafeesh
Posts: 4
Joined: 24 Dec 2023, 15:36
Contact:

How to send data into a selected column of cells in an app - Not excel ?

Post by hafeesh » 15 Jan 2024, 21:54

My hospital has a fillable form and it has excel like cells in it. I want to send the value '1' to all of these cells after i select the column. How do i do it with authotkey?
What i do now is ... i type
1
1
1
1 .. etc in word and i copy it.
it goes to windows clipboard and i select the column and i paste it.
Is there a autohotkey way to send 1 , 1, 1, to each of the cells in the column i select ??
Will 'Send' command work ?

User avatar
boiler
Posts: 17393
Joined: 21 Dec 2014, 02:44

Re: How to send data into a selected column of cells in an app - Not excel ?

Post by boiler » 15 Jan 2024, 23:02

The best way to find out is to try it. This script will probably work. Click on the first cell and press F3.

Code: Select all

F3::
	loop, 6
		Send, 1{Enter}
return

hafeesh
Posts: 4
Joined: 24 Dec 2023, 15:36
Contact:

Re: How to send data into a selected column of cells in an app - Not excel ?

Post by hafeesh » 15 Jan 2024, 23:19

boiler wrote:
15 Jan 2024, 23:02
The best way to find out is to try it. This script will probably work. Click on the first cell and press F3.

Code: Select all

F3::
	loop, 6
		Send, 1{Enter}
return
Many thanks for your reply.
i had done this, but at times not working properly.
the issue is each time 1 is entered in teh cell, the computer will process for sometime to autopopulate a description in the same row... which takes some time and it is variable...
if i put sleep in between, the whole process is taking lot of time...
when i tried pasting the values 1 in the whole column it is quick...
how do i use autohotkey to paste 1 in each of the rows at once ... so that the process occurs in a second...

User avatar
V0RT3X
Posts: 249
Joined: 20 May 2023, 21:59
Contact:

Re: How to send data into a selected column of cells in an app - Not excel ?

Post by V0RT3X » 16 Jan 2024, 08:19

Maybe something like this...

Code: Select all

F3::
   Clipboard := 1
   Loop, 6
      Send, ^v{Enter}
Return

Post Reply

Return to “Ask for Help (v1)”