How to start my AHk definitions automatically

Get help with using AutoHotkey and its commands and hotkeys
Colombe
Posts: 4
Joined: 23 Jan 2014, 02:28

How to start my AHk definitions automatically

23 Jan 2014, 02:38

I can't find in the Tutorial how to start my AHk definitions automatically. I put a file.ahk with some scripts in Windows Startup in All Programs, but it doesn't work. I have Windows 7. Can anybody tell me what to do?
Thanks
User avatar
VxE
Posts: 44
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 10:35
Location: Simi Valley, CA

Re: How to start my AHk definitions automatically

23 Jan 2014, 04:06

Assuming UAC is the culprit, you'll have to create a special shortcut to bypass UAC for your script. You can try following the guide in this page: http://www.technorms.com/253/create-sho ... -uac-check
Colombe
Posts: 4
Joined: 23 Jan 2014, 02:28

Re: How to start my AHk definitions automatically

23 Jan 2014, 11:07

Thank you for your reaction. I put the ahk file in the taskscheduler to run when I start Windows. It is there but it mentions something as "couldn't run this because user is not connected to internet." Did I anything wrong?
Isn't there a more simple way to start the AHk définitions?
timeFlies
Posts: 146
Joined: 22 Oct 2013, 20:54
Location: Somewhere in the northern hemisphere.

Re: How to start my AHk definitions automatically

23 Jan 2014, 11:16

I just use the Startup directory in the Start Menu and it works fine. UAC privileges should not be necessary.

Something might be disabled to prevent this happening. To verify, press Windows+R and type "msconfig.exe". In the window that opens, go to the Startup tab and check to see if all the boxes are checked. Otherwise I don't know what's happening.
Colombe
Posts: 4
Joined: 23 Jan 2014, 02:28

Re: How to start my AHk definitions automatically

23 Jan 2014, 11:54

I checked the Startup Tab, it's allright.
That's what I thought it doesn't need internet, but the remark is there.
Colombe
Posts: 4
Joined: 23 Jan 2014, 02:28

Re: How to start my AHk definitions automatically

24 Jan 2014, 10:35

I suppose it can't be the script. There are only some emailadresses which I use frequently. Lik this:

#m::
send [email protected]
return
timeFlies
Posts: 146
Joined: 22 Oct 2013, 20:54
Location: Somewhere in the northern hemisphere.

Re: How to start my AHk definitions automatically

24 Jan 2014, 12:22

@Colombe: I can't fix your original problem, but I thought I'd mention that if your hotkey is only one line long, you can do it like this:
This can be quite handy if you have a lot of them.
jpginc
Posts: 124
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 22:35

Re: How to start my AHk definitions automatically

29 Jan 2014, 00:17

I use windows 7 i put a shortcut (not the actual .ahk file) in my startup directory and it runs on startup fine.

make sure you are using the correct startup folder. press windows key + r and type %appdata% (with the percentage signs) then go to the folder Microsoft -> Windows -> Start Menu -> Programs -> Startup and copy the shortcut there.
Sergey

Re: How to start my AHk definitions automatically

19 Feb 2015, 17:05

I've got the same problem but macro runs and wait till i press F3.. i want to macro run on time without my attention.
User avatar
empardopo
Posts: 336
Joined: 06 Oct 2013, 12:50
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: How to start my AHk definitions automatically

20 Feb 2015, 02:11

Sergey wrote:I've got the same problem but macro runs and wait till i press F3.. i want to macro run on time without my attention.
You could try converting ahk to exe...
Everything is possible!
garry
Posts: 2285
Joined: 22 Dec 2013, 12:50

Re: How to start my AHk definitions automatically

20 Feb 2015, 05:24

put ahk script's shortcut / link here

Code: Select all

a=%a_startupcommon%
run,%a%
return
see A_VARIABLES, start folder with doubleclick
http://ahkscript.org/boards/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=6480

Return to “Ask For Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DuyMinh, ProjektZero, Wigi and 295 guests