OVercoming Firefox Quantum limitation

Get help with using AutoHotkey and its commands and hotkeys
bobmac1547
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Dec 2015, 21:05

OVercoming Firefox Quantum limitation

28 May 2018, 21:59

The new version of Firefox (quantum) prohibits the use of a local file as the initial URL for a new tab. However, it is permissible to manually type in the URL of a local file.

I'm trying to create a script that will enter the specified URL when "open new tab" is clicked.

I've been able to create a script where I can use a hotkey to enter the URL, but I would really like it to work such that the URL will be entered when I click for a new tab.

Is there a way to do this?
Rohwedder
Posts: 3963
Joined: 04 Jun 2014, 08:33
Location: Germany

Re: OVercoming Firefox Quantum limitation

29 May 2018, 01:35

Hallo,
with Autohotkey? I don't know.
But that is why we have this Firefox addon:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... -override/
bobmac1547
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Dec 2015, 21:05

Re: OVercoming Firefox Quantum limitation

29 May 2018, 14:57

Yes, I was already aware of that extension. However, the settings page says "Please note: Access to local files via URL is no longer possible due to Firefox restrictions."

That's why I'm wanting to use AHK
MaxAstro
Posts: 557
Joined: 05 Oct 2016, 13:00

Re: OVercoming Firefox Quantum limitation

29 May 2018, 15:07

Hmm... In pseudocode, you'd probably want to do something like this:

Code: Select all

LButton::
GetMousePos
ImageSearch, PictureOfNewTabButton.jpg
if (MouseX and MouseY are within range of image)
	doURLentry()
Slightly complex, but shouldn't be that hard; getting the coordinates right on the imagesearch is probably going to be the finicky part.
swagfag
Posts: 4130
Joined: 11 Jan 2017, 17:59

Re: OVercoming Firefox Quantum limitation

29 May 2018, 16:32

i was thinking more of creating a timer that would check the window title only when firefox_quantum.exe is active. If its "new tab"(or whatever its called, i dont have the browser installed), ControlSend the url(youre gonna have to test, whether it responds to control send)
bobmac1547
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Dec 2015, 21:05

Re: OVercoming Firefox Quantum limitation

29 May 2018, 17:14

Since there is no apparent obvious solution, I bit the bullet and uploaded my personal start page to a Web server. Now I can just use the above-mentioned extension to load that page. It takes a bit longer, but it's done! :!:

Thanks for all the help. This is a great community! :bravo:

Return to “Ask For Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hasantr, swrong, Xeo786 and 44 guests