How to use Window Spy with multiple monitors

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v2 or newer) and its commands and hotkeys
drbobsing

How to use Window Spy with multiple monitors

20 Apr 2024, 17:10

I am still fairly new to AHK. I use Windows 11 and have 3 monitors. I divide each monitor in half, with a total of 6 windows. One of the main things I do is look at 6 stock charts using stockcharts.com. After I have updated a chart (with annotations) I need to save the chart. To do that I have to click on a save button near the top of the screen which brings up a dialog box in which I need to click another save button. I am trying to write a script to automate those 2 mouse clicks. I have been trying to use Window Spy to find the coordinates of each of these "save" buttons. In the "Mouse Position" pane of "Window Spy" there are many options for those coordinates. There are 4 sets within the "Mouse Position" pane, and those change depending on which of my 6 windows I am in.
Could someone tell me how to come up with one set of coordinates to use in my script so that it works whether I am in window 1, or 2, or 3, or 4, or 5, or 6?

Thank you so much.
Seven0528

Re: How to use Window Spy with multiple monitors

20 Apr 2024, 17:48

The easiest approach would be to use absolute coordinates, referring to the Screen coordinate system of Window Spy.
If the position of the monitor and the windows within it remains constant, you can simply write macros using absolute coordinates.

If that's not the case, the problem becomes a bit more complex.
You can obtain a list of HWNDs using the WinGetList function and then determine the coordinates of each window from that list using WinGetPos.
Using Window or Client coordinates requires activating the window to serve as a reference point, which adds some complexity to the problem.