Cubase 13 screen focus key assign

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v2 or newer) and its commands and hotkeys
magicmore
Posts: 11
Joined: 28 Apr 2024, 10:52

Cubase 13 screen focus key assign

28 Apr 2024, 13:22

This is my first time using AHK,
and I apologize for a nubie approach to solving
my problem.

In Steinberg Cubase 13 (Music recording DAW)
I work using four screens utilizing each one for a
different page of the program. The main
two being the Project page, and the Mix Console

Each time I want to change the focus from the
Project page to the Mix Console or visa versa
I have to mouse click into that page.

I would like to assign the “tilda” key to the
Project page, and the “q” key to the Mix Console
This will speed up my work flow greatly,

I would be so appreciative if someone
Would please help me.
User avatar
mikeyww
Posts: 27140
Joined: 09 Sep 2014, 18:38

Re: Cubase 13 screen focus key assign

28 Apr 2024, 15:39

Welcome to this AutoHotkey forum!

I think you will want to provide a detailed description of exactly how such actions would occur as you interact with your mouse or keyboard. The script would then be coded to replicate those actions.
magicmore
Posts: 11
Joined: 28 Apr 2024, 10:52

Re: Cubase 13 screen focus key assign

28 Apr 2024, 20:04

Thank you so much for responding,
The long and the short of it is, I need to use my mouse to click into the screen to make the focus go to that screen.
I keep them separated onto the two screens, but for each page to become active, I need to click anywhere on the page and that page becomes active.
User avatar
mikeyww
Posts: 27140
Joined: 09 Sep 2014, 18:38

Re: Cubase 13 screen focus key assign

28 Apr 2024, 20:25

The forum reader cannot see your screen. How do you determine where to click? Is it at specific coordinates?

Running Window Spy will show you the WinTitle information as well as the coordinates. Perhaps this information will help you to distinguish the two windows so that you can provide a description of the differences and where you want the clicks to occur.
magicmore
Posts: 11
Joined: 28 Apr 2024, 10:52

Re: Cubase 13 screen focus key assign

28 Apr 2024, 21:33

I will attempt to run winspy, but clicking anywhere on the page will cause it to be active. Windows spy may gave me the window title, but this will be my first time running anything, we’ll see how it goes thanks.
User avatar
boiler
Posts: 17139
Joined: 21 Dec 2014, 02:44

Re: Cubase 13 screen focus key assign

28 Apr 2024, 21:41

magicmore wrote: I will attempt to run winspy, but clicking anywhere on the page will cause it to be active.
If you enable the “Follow Mouse” option of Window Spy, there is no need to click on a window in order to see its info.
User avatar
mikeyww
Posts: 27140
Joined: 09 Sep 2014, 18:38

Re: Cubase 13 screen focus key assign

28 Apr 2024, 21:43

You have provided no information about how to distinguish the pages. Here is how to click when tilde is pressed.

Code: Select all

#Requires AutoHotkey v2.0
~::Send '{LButton}'
magicmore
Posts: 11
Joined: 28 Apr 2024, 10:52

Re: Cubase 13 screen focus key assign

29 Apr 2024, 00:00

Thank you Boiler, and MikeyWW, for your continued patience, I will be able to try winspy in the morning and report its findings. MM
magicmore
Posts: 11
Joined: 28 Apr 2024, 10:52

Re: Cubase 13 screen focus key assign

30 Apr 2024, 21:29

I keep trying to post the results of the window spy, but it won’t let me why?
magicmore
Posts: 11
Joined: 28 Apr 2024, 10:52

Re: Cubase 13 screen focus key assign

30 Apr 2024, 21:30

It keeps saying invalid post try again
User avatar
boiler
Posts: 17139
Joined: 21 Dec 2014, 02:44

Re: Cubase 13 screen focus key assign

30 Apr 2024, 21:56

I don’t know why. I thought new members could post images. Maybe @joedf can provide some insight.
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 8981
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Cubase 13 screen focus key assign

30 Apr 2024, 22:48

@boiler I checked permissions, doesn't look like we are disabling images for new users.
Regardless, I have removed your new user restrictions @magicmore :thumbup:
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB, 2x16GB Kingston FURY Beast - DDR4 3200 MHz | [About Me] | [About the AHK Foundation] | [Courses on AutoHotkey]
[ASPDM - StdLib Distribution] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library]
magicmore
Posts: 11
Joined: 28 Apr 2024, 10:52

Re: Cubase 13 screen focus key assign

01 May 2024, 12:13

Finally,
this is the title of the Cubase Project page:

Cubase Pro Project by MAGIC MORENO
ahk_class SteinbergWindowClass㐰ݝ
ahk_exe Cubase13.exe
ahk_pid 2856
ahk_id 67048

Mouse position;

Screen: 1056, 40
Window: 1060, 33
Client: 1052, -18 (default)
Color: F0F0F0 (Red=F0 Green=F0 Blue=F0)
magicmore
Posts: 11
Joined: 28 Apr 2024, 10:52

Re: Cubase 13 screen focus key assign

01 May 2024, 12:25

this is the title of the Cubase Project page:

Cubase Pro Project by MAGIC MORENO
ahk_class SteinbergWindowClass㐰ݝ
ahk_exe Cubase13.exe
ahk_pid 2856
ahk_id 67048

Mouse position;
Screen: 1056, 40
Window: 1060, 33
Client: 1052, -18 (default)
Color: F0F0F0 (Red=F0 Green=F0 Blue=F0)

Active window position;
Screen: x: -4 y: 7 w: 1917 h: 1040
Client: x: 4 y: 58 w: 1901 h: 981
magicmore
Posts: 11
Joined: 28 Apr 2024, 10:52

Re: Cubase 13 screen focus key assign

01 May 2024, 12:33

this is the info for the Mic Console page

MixConsole - KILLING FIELDS-1203
ahk_class SteinbergWindowClass㐰ݝ
ahk_exe Cubase13.exe
ahk_pid 2856
ahk_id 67074

Mouse Position;
Screen: 2618, 19
Window: 703, 19
Client: 695, -32 (default)
Color: FFFFFF (Red=FF Green=FF Blue=FF)

Active window position;
Screen: x: 1915 y: 0 w: 1922 h: 1087
Client: x: 1923 y: 51 w: 1906 h: 1028

Thank you for your patience; again I'm trying to assign "Tilde" to the Project page and "q" to the mix console page.
Please help me with what scipts will work and how to actually do it. thank you.
User avatar
mikeyww
Posts: 27140
Joined: 09 Sep 2014, 18:38

Re: Cubase 13 screen focus key assign

01 May 2024, 19:16

Code: Select all

#Requires AutoHotkey v2.0
cubase := 'ahk_exe Cubase13.exe'

#HotIf WinExist(cubase)
~::WinActivate 'Cubase Pro Project ' cubase
q::WinActivate 'MixConsole ' cubase
#HotIf
magicmore
Posts: 11
Joined: 28 Apr 2024, 10:52

Re: Cubase 13 screen focus key assign

02 May 2024, 01:35

I'm so so grat4eful. Thank you, Thank you Thank you !!!!
The script worked !! I had to make one edit, that being the "tilde" key is actually the "`" accent key. I found out because the original script worked when I hit Shift + "Tilde" key.
Once I switched that it all worked great. I'm very very happy Thank you again !!
magicmore
Posts: 11
Joined: 28 Apr 2024, 10:52

Re: Cubase 13 screen focus key assign

02 May 2024, 01:37

This is the new working script;

Code: Select all

cubase := 'ahk_exe Cubase13.exe'

#HotIf WinExist(cubase)
`::WinActivate 'Cubase Pro Project ' cubase
q::WinActivate 'MixConsole ' cubase
#HotIf
[Mod edit: Added [code][/code] tags. Please use them yourself when posting code!]

Return to “Ask for Help (v2)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alawsareps, kunkel321 and 54 guests