Swapping unshifted and shifted versions of keys

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
dgdavis

Swapping unshifted and shifted versions of keys

Post by dgdavis » 13 Apr 2024, 18:07

I'm new to Autohotkey and have been trying to use it to swap the shifted and unshifted versions of Semicolon/Colon and Grave/Tilde keys for use in typing in Windows 10. I found online the script below:

Code: Select all

$+;:: Send {Shift Up};{Shift Down}
$;:: Send {Shift Down};{Shift Up}
That works fine for the Semicolon/Colon key. However, when I simply replace the Semicolon symbol in that code with the Grave, and compile that:

$+`:: Send {Shift Up}`{Shift Down}
$`:: Send {Shift Down}`{Shift Up}
the result is to disable the Grave/Tilde key altogether. I've spend hours fiddling with quote, escapes, etc., but the results have been mostly "bad syntax," and none have worked. I'd be grateful to be told what I'm doing wrong, and how to get this simple script working.

--Donald Davis

[Mod edit: Added [code][/code] tags. Please use them yourself when posting code!]
[Mod edit: Moved topic from AHK v2 help since this is v1 code.]

mikeyww

Re: Swapping unshifted and shifted versions of keys

Post by mikeyww » 13 Apr 2024, 18:46

Welcome to this AutoHotkey forum!

Perhaps:

#Requires AutoHotkey v1.1.33.11
$~::Send ``
$`::Send ~
Explained: Escape sequences

If you are new to AHK, I recommend using its current version, which is v2, instead of this older deprecated version that is no longer developed.

dgdavis

Post by dgdavis » 14 Apr 2024, 23:17

Thank you for responding. I'm actually using Autohotkey 1.1.35.0. The code I posted was from a browser search and its AHK version wasn't listed.

The code you suggested:

$~::Send ``
$`::Send ~
had no apparent effect after compiling--the Grave and Tilde shift state output remained the default.

--dgdavis

[Mod edit: Added [code][/code] tags. Please use them yourself when posting code!]

mikeyww