Unable to create/change global variable from within function Topic is solved

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v2 or newer) and its commands and hotkeys
bl33pingcomputer

Unable to create/change global variable from within function

10 Jan 2023, 04:38

While I've been making pretty good progress learning AHK2 as a beginner, I have become stumped on what should be an easy solution:

The purpose of my code is to capture the ahk_id of the current window when ^` are pressed, and assign the ahk_id to a global variable, window_id, so that the id can be accessed outside of the function (I plan to use the captured ahk_id with ControlSend).

My code

Code: Select all

^`:: {
global window_id
window_id := WinGetID("A")
MsgBox "All future uses of ControlSend will now act upon this window."
}

MsgBox window_id ; Throws the following error: "Error: This variable has not been assigned a value." Obviously, it is not able to access the variable.
I have tried declaring my "global window_id" outside of the script but it is not behaving the way I want it to. Any feedback would be appreciated.
mikeyww

Re: Unable to create/change global variable from within function  Topic is solved

10 Jan 2023, 06:42

#Requires AutoHotkey v2.0
window_id := ""
F3:: MsgBox window_id
 Global window_id := WinGetID("A")
 MsgBox window_id
}
Explained: Uninitialized variables:
To initialize a variable is to assign it a starting value. A variable which has not yet been assigned a value is uninitialized (or unset for short). Attempting to read an uninitialized variable is considered an error.
bl33pingcomputer

Re: Unable to create/change global variable from within function

11 Jan 2023, 00:51

mikeyww wrote:
10 Jan 2023, 06:42

window_id := ""
F3:: MsgBox window_id
 Global window_id := WinGetID("A")
 MsgBox window_id
}
Explained: Uninitialized variables: