tray icons usage Topic is solved

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v2 or newer) and its commands and hotkeys
marypoppins_1

tray icons usage

Post by marypoppins_1 » 09 May 2024, 01:09

hello. i was reaading on the usage of tray icons in ahk v2 but some things remain unclear to me.
1. it seems as though the .ico format is most desired. does it have any advantages??
2. are there recommendations for icon size / resolution ??
3. is it possible to, say, put a rectangular icon and have it be displayed as a rectangle ?? (because most icons seem to have filled an area in a square)
thanks in advance

mikeyww

Re: tray icons usage

Post by mikeyww » 09 May 2024, 06:02

Hello,

These seem to be questions about how Windows uses icons, rather than anything to do with AHK. I'm not an icon expert but can offer the following comments. Icon files use a specialized format that may contain not just one image but a set of related images of various sizes, integrated into a single file. Although an icon file need not always have multiple images, advantages may occur.
  1. A "best fit" may be selected for the display's resolution or the specific use of the icon.
  2. Other images in the file may be used in other circumstances. These may be similar or different.
  3. The icon file may accommodate programs that require a specific image size.
The OS, program, etc. can then use a size that fits the situation most closely. The images are usually square by convention. The image widths that are actually used most often are probably 24, 32, and 48 pixels, but additional sizes can be used.

If you work with an icon editor, you can quickly see all of these options and get your icon ready to use.

boiler

Re: tray icons usage  Topic is solved

Post by boiler » 09 May 2024, 06:08

My thoughts:
marypoppins_1 wrote: 1. it seems as though the .ico format is most desired. does it have any advantages??
From the TraySetIcon documentation: